Cabbage and Smoked Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Fantastic! I read about this recipe not having enough flavor, so I sauteed the onions and sausage together, then added the water once there was some browning on the sausage to give it more flavor ;) Before adding more water, make sure to boil this first, mine had plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyMTeets

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrill, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Great recipe! Just made a few changes by adding 3 cans of low sodium chicken broth instead of water (leaving out the boullion cubes); skipped the tomato sauce but added the crushed tomatoes; skipped the rice (can add potato cubes during the last half hour of cooking.... for the consistency of a "stoup".... A meal in itself with 'hard' bread.) Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanacool

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
My kitchen smelled soooo good while this was simmering. Very easy. I added two teaspoons of kosher salt and coubled the rice. My Polish grandmother would have loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I LOVE THIS SOUP! I couldn't get enough of it and my husband, who is a polish soup lover, wants me to make this one again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Very good hearty soup. I used 1-16 oz. can tomato sauce and 1-16 oz can crushed tomatoes with garlic and basil. Added a little more veggies and chopped garlic, along with a chopped jalapeno for some heat. We enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This is not my favorite cabbage soup recipe. I did use chicken broth and skipped the bouillon cubes, and I only used 1- 8 oz. can of the tomato sauce (I presume that 8 was a typo) and I thouht I bought a good sausage, but did not care for the flavor. I would suggest cutting back a little on the sausage and chopping it up a bit after slicing it. Someone suggested adding potatoes, I think I would try that if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Wife was hinting that she would like sausage and cabbage soup (she told me to make it). I found this reciipe and chose to try this instead of our usual, and she is glad I did, so am I. As others have suggested I too sauteed the onion and sausage added some garlic some cumin. Used chopped tomatoes w/jalapenos. This really makes a lot. With the left overs I am going to add more rice and beans thicken it up to a stew consistancy and add dumplings. It is raining and chilly today....sounds like tonights meal. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This is an excellent cold weather soup. It's flavorable and filling. We served it corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houndawg
Living In: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I did the onions, carrots and celery in a small pan while I mixed the beans, stock, tomatoes and sauce in my crock pot. I used canned chicken stock instead of water and cubes. Then I added little smokies (which is also a pound) to the pan to sort of brown them up. I deglazed the pan with some of the chicken stock right into the crock pot. I added cabbabe about an hour before serving. Delicious! Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaxmamma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
LOVED this!!! :o) My hubby isn't a soup fan, but he really enjoyed this. I did make a few changes. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I sauteed about 5 minced garlic cloves and 1 medium onion before adding the kielbasa. Added the sausage and continued to cook for about 5 minutes. Instead of using crushed tomatoes, I used 3-12.4 (?) cans stewed tomatoes. I used a HUGE head of cabbage. Glad I did because still ended up with a bit of yummy liquid. This is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States