Cabbage and Smoked Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Love it! I added tomato soup instead of sauce and added a can of diced tomatoes. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This is really good! ALL of my children ate it! I added chicken broth instead of the boullion and water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Carr Veals

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This is a very good soup that we all love - I've made it twice now. Very hearty and warming on a rainy cold day! As others suggested, I used a box of organic chicken stock in place of the water and bouillon cubes. I also used butter instead of the vegetable oil, and cooked the onion well before adding the sausage. We don't all like rice in the soup, so I made brown rice on the side for an option instead of putting rice in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Adams Perez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I have 3 hungry guys so I doubled about everything except the cabbage because I had a nice big head of it already. Some people commented that it wasn't very flavorful so I used some garlic salt, some italian seasoning and added italian-seasoned diced tomatoes to the mix, and also used chicken broth in place of the water. It was bursting with flavor. I think browning the sausage with the onion helped immensely, and deglazing the pan and adding that to the soup all combined to make this one of the best soups I've made. Since I doubled it, I had tons left over, and it froze very well. It's one of those foods that tastes even better the second time it's heated. I love when my family makes a point of asking if I'll make it again. That makes it a 5 star for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Terrific on a cold evening! I sauteed the onions, carrots and celery until soft, then added the sausage and let it brown. Added the cabbage and let it wilt, then added the tomatoes, rice and bay leaf and enough water to cover, making sure to stir well to get the browned bits off the bottom of the pan. Skipped the beans, bouillon and tomato sauce, but added a dash of soy sauce for a umami hit. My boys didn't want the soup, so I browned the other half-pound of the sausage (I cut this recipe in half) for them, then deglazed that pan with a bit of water and poured that into the soup pot. Just needed some hot crusty rolls and dinner was served! Husband said he would have liked potatoes in it, but I thought it was perfectly hearty and filling without it. (Men.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I had never had this before until my dad requested it for Sunday dinner (he was ill and I'd bring him Sunday dinner every week). He passed away before the next Sunday arrived, on 4/9/13. I made it anyway in his memory, and it was absolutely delicious! In a way, he left his mark by asking for that dinner because I'll think of him now and smile every time I make it. Thanks, Ludy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This dish was so good that I could not wait to sign on to rate it. This is delicious. I used two packages of the Hillshire Farm Smoke Sausage, a few sprinkles of Cajun Seasoning for heat and omitted the carrots. Substituted black eye peas for the beans and used Chicken Broth intead of the boullion cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Whites Creek, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I tried this recipe and it was so good. Just enuf spices that I could handle eating it. Only thing is, had lots left over and it's just my husband and I. That's ok because I ate alot of it!!! Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butterfly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poteau, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I have always loved cabbage so this was right up my alley. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Very excellent soup!! The only thing I added was a dash of red pepper flakes to give it some heat! Loved it and will be making again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elzbth488

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States