Cabbage and Smoked Sausage Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is a great recipe for cabbage lovers -like me. My prep is alittle different. I use the same ingredients but slice rather than shred and I also throw in a big sliced onion and about a cup of beef stock. Into the big frying pan it all goes until tender. Finally I dump the pasta in a well I made in the middle of the cabbage and align pieces of the sausage around the pan like spokes on a wagon wheel for presentation. (I fry the sausage first - sometimes I use Keeebassa) I this p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I leave out the garlic because I can't have it. 15 minutes cook time on the cabbage is too long. You will get a bitter tasting, very pronounced cabbage flavor by cooking it that long. No more than 7 or 8 minutes is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I made this recipe the other night for dinner. My husband loved it! I followed the recipe as written except I used a small head of cabbage and added one sliced onion. I also put in more garlic than called for because we love garlic. We forgot to put the cheese on top but it was great without it. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Quick, easy and oh so delicious. This is now a favorite in our house and will be making again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aa911911

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I added about 6 oz. of Velvetta cheese also. That made it good. And left out the parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This was a very quick and easy meal. It tasted wonderful! One of the other reviewers said that you should only cook the cabbage for like 5 minutes. I ended up cooking my cabbage for probably 15 minutes and I like to still have some crunch to it, so it is all on your preference of how cooked you like your cabbage. My husband and I loved this and it reheated really well too! That is an important factor for me because my husband and I both usually pack lunches for the next day. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I added a chopped onion and additional garlic. Next time I'll try it with doubling the cabbage and omitting the pasta for a healthier, low-carb dish. (There was a LOT of pasta in this, and I'd prefer more cabbage.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This was so good! My husband and I loved it!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I loved it but my husband did not, unfortunatly. I will still make it again for me and my friends. I did use shredded cababage from the slaw mix at the grocery and it was great.That was the only change
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I thought this was OK. I will probably make it again but I will use 1/2 a head of cabbage and more noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Banacka Laubach

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States