Cabbage and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I made a few changes to this recipe and it was awesome! I used dices tomatoes with italian spices and rice a roni long grain and wild rice (cooked to package directions) and added some hot itailian sausage and seasoned grilled chicken breast instead of using the jalapeneos. I also diced the cabbage instead of shredding it and cooked it 20 min longer. My husband as well 3 and 5 years old loved it and made it a main dish instead of a side. i will definatally make it again but next time i will try shrimp instead of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Love this recipe! I've been looking for a cabbage recipe & this is it. I used brown rice instead of white but followed everything else the same. I am a jalapeno fanatic so this was great. Fully enjoyed. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sylmar, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I liked the kick this dish has from the jalapeño, I think the cabbage needs to be cooked longer though, it was a little to crisp for my liking, but overall not a bad low calorie dish, I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
ditched the tomato, halved the jalepanos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briar Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I liked it a lot. I used red cabbage and besides that I pretty much followed the instructions. It was tasty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
First of all I have to make a reference to those that said this recipe was bland. Rice as most of us know doesn't have a lot of flavor to begin with and will also absorb flavor just like noodles will. Cabbage also doesn't have a lot of flavor. So if you are someone who likes things to have a lot of flavor and zip or zest this needs to have a few things added to it. I always add my own blend of seasonings to any recipe I make. Here is what I did to make the meal tasty. I used everything in the recipe, but instead of canned tomatoes I diced up a fresh tomato. I also added plenty of salt, some pepper, garlic, 1/2 cup of shredded pepper jack cheese and 1/4 cup of grated parmesan cheese. I didn't use the olive oil. Everyone in the family loved it. Including my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Loved this dish! Didn't have a problem with cabbage cooking down in 10 minutes, just finely shredded it and cooked on low heat in a large cast iron pot. Also used jalapeño rings from a jar and think fresh jalapeños may make the dish taste even better. I do not recommend using the can combination of the tomatoes and jalapeños. As for others who thought the dish was bland - I was raised on a low-salt diet and this dish was great. If you love salt this dish may not be for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
It was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
this was okay, it was worth a try but not what I expected. thanks anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
this did not work for me. I have always cooked cabbage with sufficient liquid to cook down. Took total of 45 minutes and the cabbage was still crisp.I used a can of diced tomato with jalapenos already incorporated in place of the jalapenos rings.Would not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States