Cabbage and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I made this recipe as is, and it definitely needs a little more flavor. Next time I'm going to add more garlic, and some ground turkey. It's worth making again with some additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I made this tonight and it was excellent. The only change I made was to cut the jalapenos down to 1/4 cup for the kids sake. I will be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Yum! I made this two ways. Once as directed, delicious. I also made a simplified version for the kids - no tomatoes or pepper rings. I thought theirs was bland, but they liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
2 teens, dad & I all really liked this dish. Easy to prepare: I used left-over rice and had it simmering in no time. I thought it would have been nice to serve quarters of fresh lime with it! (Didn't have any on hand; next time!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Very good recipe for a tasty main dish in a short amount of time. I used half a cabbage (4 cups of shredded cabbage) for this recipe and 3 fresh tomatoes. I also added 1/4 cup of parmesan and 1/2 cup of cheddar/pepper jack cheese and the dish was quite good. One confusing thing about the recipe is that cabbages can vary quite a bit in size. This week, the cabbages that I obtained from the store were rather large. In previous weeks, they can be pretty small. It is probably a good idea to state how many cups of shredded cabbage you are using for a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
You can eat this dish just like it is and it's very good. I also modified it to eat as a casserole/main dish. I added 1# ground beef, 1 t. each oregano, garlic powder, and basil; 1 14 oz. can tomato sauce. Stir all together until hot, spoon into casserole dish, top with cheese, and bake 350 degrees for 20 minutes. My husband and chidren loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericablueeyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. I used 1.5 fresh medium tomatoes and diced one fresh jalepeno, and added salt to taste to make up for the salt that would have been in canned veggies. I also used brown rice, as I had some the right amount left over from a previous meal. It was quite tasty, in a simple sort of way, and the random jalepenos kind of made it fun. It wasn't too spicy, but just right for both the adults and the kids. I'll use this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I used 1 10 oz can of diced tomatoes and chiles, instead of the tomatoes and jalapenos. Missing something but still good, I think alot has to do with some people are used to cabbage being cooked with ham or fatback.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dadsgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Awesome recipe! I added some ground turkey to it to make it the meal instead of a side dish. It's great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I used brown rice and a can of rotel and 6 oz. of tomato paste. Very good and a little spicy (with the rotel) A nice way to use cabbage and sneak in brown rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States