Cabbage and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I made this tonight and it was excellent. The only change I made was to cut the jalapenos down to 1/4 cup for the kids sake. I will be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Wow!!!!! I was looking for a recipe today that contained cabbage. I thought this looked great and decided to make it. It is excellent. The only things I did different was use minute rice because that is all I had on hand and made double what I should have on accident. It still is very yummy with the extra rice and will be great for my vegetarian friend coming over for St. Patty's Day. She will not eat anything with meat. Thanks for helping me out. A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
My husband loved this recipe! It was easy and flavorful. The jalapeno peppers definitely added to the dish (even though it seemed kind of weird to add them). I do not think you need to cook the cabbage a full 10 minutes. I used rice made in our rice cooker. My 3 and 2 year olds even ate this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Loved this dish! Didn't have a problem with cabbage cooking down in 10 minutes, just finely shredded it and cooked on low heat in a large cast iron pot. Also used jalapeño rings from a jar and think fresh jalapeños may make the dish taste even better. I do not recommend using the can combination of the tomatoes and jalapeños. As for others who thought the dish was bland - I was raised on a low-salt diet and this dish was great. If you love salt this dish may not be for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
First of all I have to make a reference to those that said this recipe was bland. Rice as most of us know doesn't have a lot of flavor to begin with and will also absorb flavor just like noodles will. Cabbage also doesn't have a lot of flavor. So if you are someone who likes things to have a lot of flavor and zip or zest this needs to have a few things added to it. I always add my own blend of seasonings to any recipe I make. Here is what I did to make the meal tasty. I used everything in the recipe, but instead of canned tomatoes I diced up a fresh tomato. I also added plenty of salt, some pepper, garlic, 1/2 cup of shredded pepper jack cheese and 1/4 cup of grated parmesan cheese. I didn't use the olive oil. Everyone in the family loved it. Including my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Awesome recipe! I added some ground turkey to it to make it the meal instead of a side dish. It's great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
You can eat this dish just like it is and it's very good. I also modified it to eat as a casserole/main dish. I added 1# ground beef, 1 t. each oregano, garlic powder, and basil; 1 14 oz. can tomato sauce. Stir all together until hot, spoon into casserole dish, top with cheese, and bake 350 degrees for 20 minutes. My husband and chidren loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericablueeyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Very good recipe for a tasty main dish in a short amount of time. I used half a cabbage (4 cups of shredded cabbage) for this recipe and 3 fresh tomatoes. I also added 1/4 cup of parmesan and 1/2 cup of cheddar/pepper jack cheese and the dish was quite good. One confusing thing about the recipe is that cabbages can vary quite a bit in size. This week, the cabbages that I obtained from the store were rather large. In previous weeks, they can be pretty small. It is probably a good idea to state how many cups of shredded cabbage you are using for a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Yum! I made this two ways. Once as directed, delicious. I also made a simplified version for the kids - no tomatoes or pepper rings. I thought theirs was bland, but they liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Add ground beef. Cook rice in tom/veg. jukice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States