Cabbage and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Wow!!!!! I was looking for a recipe today that contained cabbage. I thought this looked great and decided to make it. It is excellent. The only things I did different was use minute rice because that is all I had on hand and made double what I should have on accident. It still is very yummy with the extra rice and will be great for my vegetarian friend coming over for St. Patty's Day. She will not eat anything with meat. Thanks for helping me out. A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
My husband loved this recipe! It was easy and flavorful. The jalapeno peppers definitely added to the dish (even though it seemed kind of weird to add them). I do not think you need to cook the cabbage a full 10 minutes. I used rice made in our rice cooker. My 3 and 2 year olds even ate this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
No No No. This just did not work. It was very bland even with the jalapenos. The rice turns to mush and it is a lot of work for something we threw in the trash. Big waste of time and food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
this did not work for me. I have always cooked cabbage with sufficient liquid to cook down. Took total of 45 minutes and the cabbage was still crisp.I used a can of diced tomato with jalapenos already incorporated in place of the jalapenos rings.Would not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
this was okay, it was worth a try but not what I expected. thanks anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
It was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Loved this dish! Didn't have a problem with cabbage cooking down in 10 minutes, just finely shredded it and cooked on low heat in a large cast iron pot. Also used jalapeño rings from a jar and think fresh jalapeños may make the dish taste even better. I do not recommend using the can combination of the tomatoes and jalapeños. As for others who thought the dish was bland - I was raised on a low-salt diet and this dish was great. If you love salt this dish may not be for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
First of all I have to make a reference to those that said this recipe was bland. Rice as most of us know doesn't have a lot of flavor to begin with and will also absorb flavor just like noodles will. Cabbage also doesn't have a lot of flavor. So if you are someone who likes things to have a lot of flavor and zip or zest this needs to have a few things added to it. I always add my own blend of seasonings to any recipe I make. Here is what I did to make the meal tasty. I used everything in the recipe, but instead of canned tomatoes I diced up a fresh tomato. I also added plenty of salt, some pepper, garlic, 1/2 cup of shredded pepper jack cheese and 1/4 cup of grated parmesan cheese. I didn't use the olive oil. Everyone in the family loved it. Including my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I liked it a lot. I used red cabbage and besides that I pretty much followed the instructions. It was tasty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
ditched the tomato, halved the jalepanos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briar Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States