Cabbage and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Love this recipe! I've been looking for a cabbage recipe & this is it. I used brown rice instead of white but followed everything else the same. I am a jalapeno fanatic so this was great. Fully enjoyed. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sylmar, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I liked the kick this dish has from the jalapeño, I think the cabbage needs to be cooked longer though, it was a little to crisp for my liking, but overall not a bad low calorie dish, I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
ditched the tomato, halved the jalepanos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briar Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I liked it a lot. I used red cabbage and besides that I pretty much followed the instructions. It was tasty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
First of all I have to make a reference to those that said this recipe was bland. Rice as most of us know doesn't have a lot of flavor to begin with and will also absorb flavor just like noodles will. Cabbage also doesn't have a lot of flavor. So if you are someone who likes things to have a lot of flavor and zip or zest this needs to have a few things added to it. I always add my own blend of seasonings to any recipe I make. Here is what I did to make the meal tasty. I used everything in the recipe, but instead of canned tomatoes I diced up a fresh tomato. I also added plenty of salt, some pepper, garlic, 1/2 cup of shredded pepper jack cheese and 1/4 cup of grated parmesan cheese. I didn't use the olive oil. Everyone in the family loved it. Including my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Loved this dish! Didn't have a problem with cabbage cooking down in 10 minutes, just finely shredded it and cooked on low heat in a large cast iron pot. Also used jalapeño rings from a jar and think fresh jalapeños may make the dish taste even better. I do not recommend using the can combination of the tomatoes and jalapeños. As for others who thought the dish was bland - I was raised on a low-salt diet and this dish was great. If you love salt this dish may not be for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
It was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
this was okay, it was worth a try but not what I expected. thanks anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
this did not work for me. I have always cooked cabbage with sufficient liquid to cook down. Took total of 45 minutes and the cabbage was still crisp.I used a can of diced tomato with jalapenos already incorporated in place of the jalapenos rings.Would not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
No No No. This just did not work. It was very bland even with the jalapenos. The rice turns to mush and it is a lot of work for something we threw in the trash. Big waste of time and food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States