Cabbage and Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
This is very similar to Hungarian Galushka which my mother made - although 1 cup of butter is overkill! I reduced it to 1/4 to 1/2 cup and add a little chicken broth if it needs to be more moist. Try using wide egg noodles instead of the farfalle, a freshly ground coarse black pepper. Combine cabbage and noodles in the pan and cook together for a few minutes to blend flavors. This was a frequent, Friday-night, vegetarian supper. Thanks for the memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
This is an old slovak recipe called 'Haluski' Grandma passed down the love of it. It is not spicy, most slovak food is not, but it is full of flavor. We 'cheat' and add sliced polish sausage to it to make a whole meal, YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I loved this dish! I made a few changes, however. Being Italian American, I grew up having a bowl of pasta with butter, and a little salt & pepper, so I am always looking for pasta dishes. I used it as the recipe suggested, but used whole wheat pasta shells, and only 1/2 of a 13 oz package. I used minced onion, and garlic salt instead of the garlic and onion, and added a little salt & pepper. Also, I like my cabbage crisp tender, so cooking for only 7 minutes was enough for me. The butter paired really well with the pasta and cabbage. I also love parmesean cheese with pasta, and added a little to my dish before serving. Cheese is a little salty, so you might want to use very little salt in the cabbage. Also, this is a quick dish, I had it ready in 35 minutes, and served it with nothing else, but some hot pull apart rolls.....Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dnsecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Minden, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Great recipe. I fried up a few slices of bacon, and let them rest while I prepared the rest of the recipe. When done, I put the bacon on top with a dallop of sour cream. I halved the butter on the advice of other reviewers. I would add more garlic next time, because it seemed a little bland to me. But I think this recipe is great because you can really make it your own. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Great basic recipe. I have made this for years (Polish you know!!) After 40 years I think I have thought of most every variation. They are all good with this dish. I usually make mine in a skillet then add noodles at the end with a half cup of sour cream. It is just a nice touch, tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
My family has this at least 3 times a month. To change the flavor a bit...add a splash of soy sauce. MMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAY10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fostoria, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
My family loves this one, but instead of butter I substitute 1 pound of bacon and cook the rest of this in the bacon fat. The bacon makes it a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy A Lepera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Fast, easy, and tasty! The whole family loved it. I used whole wheat penne pasta instead and added ground beef. New favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
Made for dinner tonight. Followed recipe as is. Excellent. Easy and quick. Definately a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
I made this years ago and loved it but I lost the recipe and haven't made it since until now and it's sooooo good thanks for having the recipe here for me to find again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States