Cabbage and Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Great recipe. I fried up a few slices of bacon, and let them rest while I prepared the rest of the recipe. When done, I put the bacon on top with a dallop of sour cream. I halved the butter on the advice of other reviewers. I would add more garlic next time, because it seemed a little bland to me. But I think this recipe is great because you can really make it your own. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
My family loves this one, but instead of butter I substitute 1 pound of bacon and cook the rest of this in the bacon fat. The bacon makes it a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy A Lepera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
I love this recipe! I always top with a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I made it with red cabbage (some call it purple cabbage) and it tasted great. I didnt use the whole portion of butter as I didnt want to feel like all I was eating was a stick of butter. I put in a slice of butter and 2 tablespoons of olive oil for cooking in the initial directions. After the cooking was done, I put in a slice of butter and tasted. I kept putting in a slice of butter until I got a good buttery taste. I must have put in one or two tablespoons of butter at the end, but each person's taste may differ so adjust accordingly. Wished I had taken a pic of the dish to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Fast, easy, and tasty! The whole family loved it. I used whole wheat penne pasta instead and added ground beef. New favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Substituted olive oil for butter and used less; added ground turkey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Won't make this again. Husband hated it, two year old actually liked it, and I thought it was ok, but definately not good enough to deserve all those calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This is very good!!! I used a package of Dole Coleslaw with the carrots in it and I liked the flavor alot. I did cut the butter down by 1/2 and next time I think I'll start with 1/4 cup and just add it if it's needed. I also added more salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
My family has this at least 3 times a month. To change the flavor a bit...add a splash of soy sauce. MMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAY10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fostoria, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
This is very similar to Hungarian Galushka which my mother made - although 1 cup of butter is overkill! I reduced it to 1/4 to 1/2 cup and add a little chicken broth if it needs to be more moist. Try using wide egg noodles instead of the farfalle, a freshly ground coarse black pepper. Combine cabbage and noodles in the pan and cook together for a few minutes to blend flavors. This was a frequent, Friday-night, vegetarian supper. Thanks for the memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Low Carb Zucchini Pasta

Gluten-free vegetable noodles made from zucchini.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States