Cabbage and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I have eaten Cabbage and Noodles for over 70 yrs. Learned to make this from my Grandma and Mother. We don't make it with bacon and onions. Too much fat with the bacon. I fry the shredded cabbage in butter until almost brown and tender, then mix into the cooked broad noodles. I have passed this on to my 3 sons and dil's. It is one of their favorites especially during Lent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Drain some of that grease. A half pound of bacon makes for a lot of grease. Use just a couple of tablespoons. In fact, cook the onion in 1 tablespoon, then add another for the cabbage. This is even good if use the pre-cooked bacon, and cook the onion and cabbage in olive oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Hi, just so you know this is not an Irish recipe, this is however Hungarian. And, this is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Delicious! I actually saw this recipe on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives.....and thought it sounded really good....came here to see if a recipe existed....and here you go.....very tasty! Family really liked it......simple ingredients and easy to make....especially since we love cabbage....Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I made this a couple of weeks ago and followed the recipe to a T. The only thing that I added was a little more bacon then just drained a little bit of the bacon grease out. (My family loves bacon). It turned out amazing! We will be fixing it again this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: Elyria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
We call these "Nancy Noodles" because Nancy introduced them to us!! WONDERFUL comfort food. Don't forget to season them...salt/pepper/garlic and lot's of butter!! Forget your diet and cholesterol levels!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockingham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This turner out to be very good ....with a few changes. I added some smoked sausage and topped it with Louisiana hot sauce. The whole family loved it. Jim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
My wife and I really enjoyed this.I am a fan of Egg Noodles and I never experienced them this way.Kudos..My wife is not a fan of Cabbage but she made an exception which surprised me so you know this recipe is great. Followed the recipe with no alterations and the result was mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I loved it! I followed the directions exactly, using just a bit of the bacon grease with a little bit of butter to sauté the onions & cabbage. Since DH wouldn't be home right away, I tasted it again before serving and felt it needed a little something! I microwaved a half cup of water, added about teaspoon - plus of chicken bullion, stirred and poured over all. (I also have ham base, but felt the chicken would be the right flavoring.) Stirred and served. We all devoured our portions (including DS 20!!!). Thanks for the delicious and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
stuck to the original recipe and ingredients and it was superb..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by needs garlic!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States