Cabbage and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Made this while fasting from meat. Used olive oil instead of bacon. Added shredded carrots and mushrooms and other reviewers suggested grainy mustard. Also added soy and Worcestershire sauce. Everyone loved it!!! Can't wait till we make it again with kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Haluska as it is known in Hungarian is found throughout Eastern Europe and can be made as a main dish with bacon,sausage or ham,and as a side dish without meat for pork chops, cutlets, or roasts. Another variation would be to add boiled potatoes to the fried cabbage with or without pasta and/or meat. I use only a small amount of bacon fat as a base flavoring utilizing more butter and/ or oil. One other reviewer correctly mentioned "squeezing" the chopped cabbage but didn't explain further. As the cabbage is cut place it in a colander by handful layers and salting each layer with kosher salt. After last salted layer, press the cabbage down with your hands a few times and let it sit for at least a half hour. Salting the cabbage will cause wilting and draw out bitter fluids. Squeeze the cabbage out by handfuls and place in the prepared fry pan. I've never had to add sugar using this method and the cabbage will fit into the pan. Do not cover the pan and fry until the cabbage just starts to brown and carmelize.This won't take long as a reult of salting and squeezing. Then, remove from heat. Whatever pasta you use, treat it as you would in Italian cooking. Have the cabbage ready and add the drained and unrinsed pasta to it. If you have access to a European deli, get some single smoked sausage, slice it thin and add to the cabbage near the end of cooking just to warm it through. One bite of that and.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
The cabbage and egg noodles mix so well together in this recipe that I was able to fool my son into thinking it was bacon and noodles! I have to sneak in the veggies where I can. It's very filling and satisfying. And I disagree with the critics of bacon grease. It has no trans fats, and many food experts agree that lard is the new health food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is a cheap, filling and delicious meal! I made this pretty much as is the first time (had no bacon but I had bacon grease so still had the flavor and added a bit of stone ground deli mustard) I made it again and added some red bell pepper. Delicious both times! I heartily recommend the mustard, it added a really tasty tang. I had never heard of Huluski until I came upon it in a "food on a budget" blog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Nothing wrong with this recipe--if you can imagine noodles and cabbage together, you can already taste it. Quite inexpensive, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I let my onion brown before adding the cabbage to add some depth to its flavor. Waited til cabbage was completely cooked before tossing in warm noodles and bacon. I was expecting the flavors to blend; they didn't. Maybe it will be better as leftovers. (It made a lot!) I wasn't impressed, but my husband loved it. Splashed on some cider vinegar at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saint Anne
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I can't believe I haven't rated this yet. Sadly, I can't stop eating this once I start. It's absolutely addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracietwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was really good. I followed the recipe, but added a half cup of chicken stock when I combined the noodles with the cabbage. I'll definitely make again, but next time I'll add a clove or two of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States