Cabbage and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This was very good. I cooked it pretty much as is, but since I had a large head of cabbage I used a 12 oz package of noodles and a whole pound of bacon. I did drain off some bacon grease but still used quite a bit, it is important to the flavor of the dish. I also added some salt when I first put the cabbage in the pan to help pull out the water and a sprinkle of sugar towards the end to cut any bitterness. My husband was very upset that I was adding in his noodles and his beloved bacon to the evil vegetable, but then he said it was good and had thirds!! My teenager who doesn't like ham had it as her entire meal, it is filling enough to stand on it's own. I have a ton of leftovers and can't wait to eat it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nyack, New York, USA
Living In: Bushkill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Made this for my family this week! My kids are not cabbage eaters, but my husband and I thought it was very good. We will definitely be making this again & again! Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momto3girls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This is a whole family favorite,kids too. I don't like cabbage, neither does our 11 yr old. Though we both love this meal. I fry the cabbage first so it has some crispness. I hate soggy cabbage. Sometimes I added a little cheese what ever kind I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
greasy, not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Great recipe. I pretty much followed it exactly. Just used less bacon grease and added a little caraway seed, and fresh ground black pepper to the noodles. Also, minced, sautéed garlic with the onions. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Kind of boring. The cabbage is still on the bitter side, and the bacon flavor on its own was underwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
A simple and comforting dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I wasn't sure about trying this recipe. Sounded pretty bland, but I was in a hurry and had the right ingredients. I'm so glad I tried--it's so good. We like it with sliced up smokey links sausage--it's a complete meal. Interestingly enough, after I tried this I found an almost identical recipe in the inspirational magazine Guideposts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This was a BIG hit tonight! I've never been a fan of cabbage but this was perfect. Even my usually picky 10 year olds cleaned their plates. Husband went back for seconds which is always the final seal of approval. I added a splash of red wine vinegar & used whole wheat egg noodles and turkey bacon to make it a tad healthier. Perfect dish for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States