Cabbage and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
We call these "Nancy Noodles" because Nancy introduced them to us!! WONDERFUL comfort food. Don't forget to season them...salt/pepper/garlic and lot's of butter!! Forget your diet and cholesterol levels!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockingham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Drain some of that grease. A half pound of bacon makes for a lot of grease. Use just a couple of tablespoons. In fact, cook the onion in 1 tablespoon, then add another for the cabbage. This is even good if use the pre-cooked bacon, and cook the onion and cabbage in olive oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I have eaten Cabbage and Noodles for over 70 yrs. Learned to make this from my Grandma and Mother. We don't make it with bacon and onions. Too much fat with the bacon. I fry the shredded cabbage in butter until almost brown and tender, then mix into the cooked broad noodles. I have passed this on to my 3 sons and dil's. It is one of their favorites especially during Lent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Hi, just so you know this is not an Irish recipe, this is however Hungarian. And, this is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This turner out to be very good ....with a few changes. I added some smoked sausage and topped it with Louisiana hot sauce. The whole family loved it. Jim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I made this dish over the weekend and my boyfriend could not wait to take the left-overs to work this morning. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Rossville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was a hit with the entire family! I did drain off the bacon grease and left a tablespoon or so in the pot before adding the onion. With the onion I added some minced garlic. I poured in a tiny bit more of the drained bacon grease when I added the cabbage. I like spicy food, and this was perfect with some Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I made something very similar to this once before. I love this!! Can only make it when I am eating with others cause hubby will not eat it. Made it today to take to mother's 84th BD party. I know it will be a great it! I used Garlic Garlic and a dash of salt & pepper. Was hard not taste testing it too much! = )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
We all loved this recipe. My family has always made a variation of this recipe using Ramen noodles and soy sauce to taste. It was equally tasty with egg noodles!! We did drain the bacon grease also and my husband uses Parmeson on his as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I thought this was a good dish. I really enjoyed and did use some of the previous hints of things to add especially some garlic for a little extra flavor. I think even better reheated the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States