Cabbage and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I have made a recipe very close to this for years (from my Hungarian Mom-in-law). If you leave out the bacon and saute the onion and cabbage in additional butter, you can add all kinds of leftover meats ie: chicken, browned ground beef, pork. Served with warm rolls, it makes a great winter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizbet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appling, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I took a tip from Lorie and added a little vinegar and sugar. It was really, really good! I will for sure be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This was very good family loved it..Will make again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi’s Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartselle, Alabama, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I grew up in a neighborhood w/many eastern Eurpoean families - fortunately I remembered their tweaks to this recipe. A tspor so of cider vinegar plus two tsps brown sugar will add depth to the flavor. Also, as a previous reviewer indicated, caraway seeds really pop the flavor as well. Truly, you can skip the bacon and use butter as the fat. This is a cheap, filling dish. Many a pieroghi was eaten with a side of "halushki". 4 stars as is, 5 stars tweaked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
With so much cabbage from the garden, I'm looking for as many recipes as I can. This was very good but I felt it needed a few more seasonings including some caraway. Kielbasa would work in this dish as well or add a bit of sour cream. It's all good and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I cut up the bacon into bits and began to fry it as I chopped the onions. Add the onions and cook as you chop the cabbage. Add the cabbage until it's wilting and then add the noodles. Super easy and quick to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Thank you so much for this recipe. Quick. inexpensive. delicious. no need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cohasset, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This was very good! Love how the cabbage stays a little crunchy with the soft noodles. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIENNEROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
YUMM~! Comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gahanna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
My vegetable hating son requests this all the time. I use asian style noodles. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States