Cabbage and Apple Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
This was excellent. I used green cabbage and an unpeeled Fuji apple instead. I also added a little sugar and 1/4 cup mayo. Best Slaw I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2000
This is a great way to eat red cabbage. The yogurt dressing is the key. I used nonfat yogurt and sour cream and it's still delicious. I could hardly stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
I'm not a coleslaw fan, but I tasted this and thougt it was pretty good. My family requested this a second time. A change from the traditional cabbage cole slaw. Note: I used half sour crea, and half light mayonnaise since I didn't have plain yogurt. Obviously it turned out great. A good, sweet (but not by any means overly sweet)recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
I liked the variety of flavors and textures in this recipe. I thought the dressing would be too bland, but it just enhanced the flavors of the ingredients. I didn't have Granny Smith apples so I used Fuji, and it tasted good. The next day the dressing seemed to break down a little, but I added some walnuts and it perked it up a bit. My 13 yo liked it, my 7 yo didn't. I'd make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
Yummy! I like the yogurt/sour cream dressing so much better than regular mayonnaise slaws - so light, fresh, tangy and crisp! Perfect complement to my boston baked beans and brown bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
This was very tasty. I've added celery seed to make it a nice "summery" flavor. I let it sit more than 45 minutes and the slaw produced a lot of excess liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
I did not like this at all. The yogurt gave the dressing a bitter aftertaste. I doctored it up with some celery seed, a bit more sugar, and a good spoonful of Miracle Whip. It was just okay, but I wouldn't make it again. It's a lot of work to chop all the cabbage for "just okay".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
We thought this was extremely bland. After mixing and tasting, I added about a tbsp of Miracle Whip, and that didn't help either. IMO there's too much parsley and it's a dish you can't make earlier in the day because it gets very runny. Perhaps using greek yogurt or draining regular yogurt overnight on paper towels over a strainer would alleviate the runniness. Otherwise, make what you plan to eat because I don't think this will be suitable to serve the next day. Sorry, this was a disappointment and didn't work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Made it without onions and parsley (for my finicky crew) and it came off great-- like a sweet fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
The dressing was tasty with the cabbage and apples, but I think there was too much parsley. It was a pretty side though and presents well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States