Byrdhouse Mushroom Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I added fresh spinach and red pepper when sauteeing the onions, garlic, and mushrooms. I also added some quartered grape tomatoes near the end of the cooking time. I simply cooked it all on the stovetop. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
FANTASTIC!!!!! This was soooo delicious! I would give it 10 stars if I could! I sauted the onion, garlic and mushrooms in about 2 tbsp. of olive oil instead of butter and made the whole thing on my stovetop! It was infused with so much flavor and the barley had a really nice chewieness to it. You can substitute rice for the barley - but I like using barely as it is a more complex grain than rice. I will definitely come back to this recipe over and over again! Thanx SunnyByrd! (By the way I love your pics! I'm a big fan of yours! Keep the great recipes - and photo shots coming!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gina brown
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Wow!! So I have had barley maybe three times in my life and this was so good..I will make again and again. I mad it to go with steaks so I used beef broth in place of the chicken and it was so good!! Can't wait to try this with chicken:) Thank you Sunny!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This was very flavorful and hearty. I used coconut oil instead of butter, fresh basil, and veg broth. After 45 min, I still had a lot of liquid left (still learning to adjust for altitude), so I simmered it the rest of the way on the stove. This will be a great winter dish--next time, I'll make it in the slow cooker and use hulled barley (which takes forever to cook but is a more complete grain and therefore higher in nutrients).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This was a nice, easy, healthy option for dinner. I made a few adjustments...added some cooked chicken, procini mushrooms, corn and some baby spinach. I thought it could have had some more flavour, but hubby liked it and had seconds :-) Good option for getting some different grains into the diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5galsandadad
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Sooooo good! Thanks SunnyByrd! My husband and I loved it! I did not change a thing! It is a versatile dish that can be enhanced by so many things. Thank you again!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5galsandadad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrick, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
If you enjoy barley (an under used and under rated grain) this is an excellent recipe. I used chicken with skin, browned it in a little olive oil with garlic powder, seasoning salt, and onion powder then put fresh mushrooms in the pot. My husband ate this and went back for seconds and thirds. This is a little bit more work than a lot of casseroles but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This is delicious!!! I have only ever had barley in soup so I wasn't sure what to expect. It is absolutely delicious. I served it with roasted chicken and corn. It has all the flavor of a good rice dish but doesn't taste as starchy. Plus, there is lots of fiber. I will make this again and again! It made the whole house smell great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This was fantastic! I will be making this again soon. Barley is so good for you and this recipe had a wonderful complex flavor but not overpowering. It was great heated up the next day for lunch. Everyone in our house raved about this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Wonderful! Subbed olive oil for butter eliminated garlic since I can't eat it while breastfeeding. Cooked on the stove top since we had a hot February day here in NC at 67 degrees and didn't want to use the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States