Byrdhouse Mushroom Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Excellent!! I don't rate many things 5 stars, but this was great! Loved the basil in this. The only change I made was to use half butter and half olive oil. Had to, my fiance is watching his weight and cholesterol. Will make again and again! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe. One last thing, my 15 month old loved it too so it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Love it! I used shallots instead of onions, half shiitake and half baby bella mushrooms, and added some thyme and sage. Served with roasted chicken and spinach. Nice change from the usual rotation of potato, rice or pasta sides, and nice to have another way to use barley other than soup! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by gina brown
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Wow!! So I have had barley maybe three times in my life and this was so good..I will make again and again. I mad it to go with steaks so I used beef broth in place of the chicken and it was so good!! Can't wait to try this with chicken:) Thank you Sunny!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Photo by 5galsandadad
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Sooooo good! Thanks SunnyByrd! My husband and I loved it! I did not change a thing! It is a versatile dish that can be enhanced by so many things. Thank you again!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5galsandadad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrick, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This is delicious!!! I have only ever had barley in soup so I wasn't sure what to expect. It is absolutely delicious. I served it with roasted chicken and corn. It has all the flavor of a good rice dish but doesn't taste as starchy. Plus, there is lots of fiber. I will make this again and again! It made the whole house smell great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Great warm belly food! So tasty, even good eaten as cold leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA
Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This was fantastic! I will be making this again soon. Barley is so good for you and this recipe had a wonderful complex flavor but not overpowering. It was great heated up the next day for lunch. Everyone in our house raved about this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
If you enjoy barley (an under used and under rated grain) this is an excellent recipe. I used chicken with skin, browned it in a little olive oil with garlic powder, seasoning salt, and onion powder then put fresh mushrooms in the pot. My husband ate this and went back for seconds and thirds. This is a little bit more work than a lot of casseroles but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This was very flavorful and hearty. I used coconut oil instead of butter, fresh basil, and veg broth. After 45 min, I still had a lot of liquid left (still learning to adjust for altitude), so I simmered it the rest of the way on the stove. This will be a great winter dish--next time, I'll make it in the slow cooker and use hulled barley (which takes forever to cook but is a more complete grain and therefore higher in nutrients).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This was a nice, easy, healthy option for dinner. I made a few adjustments...added some cooked chicken, procini mushrooms, corn and some baby spinach. I thought it could have had some more flavour, but hubby liked it and had seconds :-) Good option for getting some different grains into the diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States