Byrdhouse Mushroom Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Wonderful! Subbed olive oil for butter eliminated garlic since I can't eat it while breastfeeding. Cooked on the stove top since we had a hot February day here in NC at 67 degrees and didn't want to use the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Delicious. I made some additions- since I was cooking this as a main dish I added some cubed firm tofu when cooking the onions and garlic, and I also added about 1/2 cup of almonds, because I like the way nuts and barley taste together. Other than those changes I made the recipe exactly as called for and it was great. Oh, I also halved the butter and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I added fresh spinach and red pepper when sauteeing the onions, garlic, and mushrooms. I also added some quartered grape tomatoes near the end of the cooking time. I simply cooked it all on the stovetop. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Excellent mushroom flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Absolutely wonderful. We just started eating whole grains and will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
FANTASTIC!!!!! This was soooo delicious! I would give it 10 stars if I could! I sauted the onion, garlic and mushrooms in about 2 tbsp. of olive oil instead of butter and made the whole thing on my stovetop! It was infused with so much flavor and the barley had a really nice chewieness to it. You can substitute rice for the barley - but I like using barely as it is a more complex grain than rice. I will definitely come back to this recipe over and over again! Thanx SunnyByrd! (By the way I love your pics! I'm a big fan of yours! Keep the great recipes - and photo shots coming!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Really good! I do love barley and this was just so satisfying. I did use half butter and half olive oil...other than that everthing stayed the same. Will definately make again.....maybe some thyme next time....another spice that goes great with mushrooms....thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Loved this! Had a hard time not eating the whole pot in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This was a nice, easy, healthy option for dinner. I made a few adjustments...added some cooked chicken, procini mushrooms, corn and some baby spinach. I thought it could have had some more flavour, but hubby liked it and had seconds :-) Good option for getting some different grains into the diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This was very flavorful and hearty. I used coconut oil instead of butter, fresh basil, and veg broth. After 45 min, I still had a lot of liquid left (still learning to adjust for altitude), so I simmered it the rest of the way on the stove. This will be a great winter dish--next time, I'll make it in the slow cooker and use hulled barley (which takes forever to cook but is a more complete grain and therefore higher in nutrients).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States