Byrdhouse Mushroom Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Delicious side dish. I used beef broth and baby bella mushrooms which gave the dish a beautiful color. I had purchased some barley for a soup and was looking for a way to use it up. Im sure this would be fantastic with rice as well. I think i will try making it into a one dish meal next time by adding cubed chicken or ground beef. Maybe throw in some brocolli or sugar snap peas too! Thanks Sunny, for a fantastic dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This is beyond amazing. Insane. Best rice I've ever had. Miss Sunny did it again! I used brown rice, homemade chicken stock and baby bella mushrooms, I followed the recipe exact otherwise. I'm not sure why I had to cook it another half hour, if it was because I used brown rice or I cooked it for the first hour covered. I did cook it the extra half hour uncovered. This tastes like an upscale rice dish. Try it for yourself! NOTE: If you have a hard time spending money on portobello/baby bella mushrooms, buy them at your local asian market OR discount grocery store. I find them cheaper there, over half what I would pay at my regular grocery store. Don't skimp out, use butter and the sherry. It's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Amazing. This somehow seems like a lost flavor from my youth, though I don't remember ever eating it before. My favorite way to eat barley now, and even my 2 1/2 year old asked me to make it again. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This was great!! The first time I'd ever had barley aside from soup. Excellent!! I think you could easily use chicken or beef broth w/this depending on your main entree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I completely went against the directions in this recipe and subbed away, but don't worry, I got permission of the recipe submitter (seriously, I did, I'm not pulling your leg). I don't have barley and although I looked for it at Trader Joe's, I couldn't find it (weird, huh? I thought they'd have it but oh well), so I used rice instead. I didn't use onions bc I made this for the bf and he doesn't like it when I add onions. So I just added some onion powder and extra garlic. He also doesn't like sherry, so I just left that out. I don't have fresh parsley, so I added about 1/3 of the amount in dried and added with the liquid because I wanted it to absorb some liquid. Since I made rice, I just cooked it in the broth until it boiled, then cooked on low for twenty minutes. Turned out perfectly and bf loved it. Success! I'd tell you how I feel about it but I don't like mushrooms so I didn't try any. Thanks, SunnyByrd, for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Delicious! I used pinot grigio ('cause I didn't have any sherry!) but otherwise followed exactly. Very flavorful and comforting and filling. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Absolutely amazing! Tasted like a risotto without the work and considerably more healthy with the barley. Barley was also super cheap, 99 cents for a one pound bag! Only thing I would change next time is to use only one can of chicken broth and one part water. Was a little too salty for our taste. Had it with pan seared chicken breast and grilled asparagus. A+!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geppetto DeVitis

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This was very hearty and a healthy alternative or a carb (i.e. pasta or white rice) in a meal. I ended up using marsala wine because I mistakenly thought I had sherry (whoops). I added a small amount of olive oil and left the butter out entirely. Basically, I used this recipe as a base for my own creative cooking. The cooking times were dead on (I'm at sea level). One drawback: It looks really unappetizing. I might add some color into it next time - red, yellow or green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Fantastic! I did not have any cooking sherry on hand so I substituted 1/4 cup red wine vinegar and 1/4 cup ginger-ale. Also added boneless, skinless chicken thighs in the last 20 minutes. This is truly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXYPAULIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
A+ This was great, I will for sure make this again. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States