Byrdhouse Mushroom Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
very yummy healthy side dish -I didn't have sherry-used 1/4 cup cheap wine and 1/4 cup peach/white grape juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I halved the recipe since it was just for me and felt it was missing something. Since I went out and bought sherry just to make this, I was determined to have it turn out yummy. I added a dash each of cayenne and hot sauce - not enough to make it spicy, but enough to enhance the flavors. After cooking the recipe on the stovetop (I had added a reduced sodium chicken bouillon cube along with the chicken broth and skipped baking it) I added a finely diced roma tomato and 1/4 cup parmesan. This helped the dish. This recipe is easy to make and you can add a bunch of chopped veggies to it. For me, it was a 2-3 star as written, but with changes, at least a 4 star. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This had wonderful flavor and was such a nice change from rice. I made the recipe exactly as stated (except I completely forgot to add the parsely in at the end!). It had the chewiness you get from barley - but, was also creamy like a risotto. My husband said the flavor reminded him of something you would get in an upscale restaurant. Really good - thanks Sunnybyrd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This was delicious! I made this for a holiday party and got lots of compliments. I used just a few diced up canned mushrooms because I was unsure if others liked mushrooms or not. I also used dried minced onions. I omitted the sherry because I'm not a fan of the flavor and just added water instead. It took about an hour to cook covered on the stovetop over medium heat. This would be great as a meal with chicken and broccoli or other veggies added! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Very good! I used low sodium better than bouillon, and barely added any salt so I didn't find it too salty at all. Forgot to buy sherry so used a dry white wine instead, but will do sherry next time for sure. THX! to tat2whttrsh's review mentioning this on the Caribbean Spiced Chicken review, that's how I found this one, and the 2 dishes did go perfectly together as she said... even though they're very different tastes, the thyme ties it together and it's a nice balance. Also made with roasted beets and sweets (my fave!) and a big salad and it all made a FANTASTIC fall Sunday family dinner! Will DEFINITELY make this one again, maybe turn it into a one dish meal as suggested. Also, when I'm having people over I try to 'prep' as much as possible so I'm not cooking too much when I could be visiting, so I sauteed everything, added the wine, set it in the frige for about 2 hrs., just before guests arrived I boiled the barley in the broth apx. 5 mins, mixed it all together and left in the frige another hour before baking one hour... Came out PERFECT!!! THNX Sunny Byrd!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yellowpairs ♥
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
GREAT recipe! I used half chicken half beef broth, baby bella shrooms, and omitted parsley simply because I had none. I also do not own a dutch oven, so I made it all on the stovetop. It took a little over an hour on medium-low heat for all the liquid to absorb for me. What an AMAZING depth of flavor! This dish left me feeling very full and satisfied, we will definitely be making this one again! Thanks for the awesome recipe Sunnybyrd! Who knew barley could be so good without soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yellowpairs ♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Too Salty! I should have trusted my instincts on this one...next time, and there will be a next time, I will taste the broth (I made 2 1/2 cups of "better than boullion" instead of using canned) and dilute it a bit. It took more than an hour for the liquid to be absorbed completely, and I skipped the basil - too overpowering for the flavors, and sprinkled it with parmesan cheese. I love the texture of barley and the result was good - it would have been better if the sodium was lower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORA.V

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This was very good- everyone enjoyed it and it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
The flavor of this was awesome!.. I loved the sherry and it didn't taste like alcohol! I liked the crunchy barley but was too healthy for my kids who wont even eat brown rice!.. Oh well more for me! Hubby liked this as well! Thanks SunnyByrd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Delicious side dish. I used beef broth and baby bella mushrooms which gave the dish a beautiful color. I had purchased some barley for a soup and was looking for a way to use it up. Im sure this would be fantastic with rice as well. I think i will try making it into a one dish meal next time by adding cubed chicken or ground beef. Maybe throw in some brocolli or sugar snap peas too! Thanks Sunny, for a fantastic dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States