Byrdhouse Mushroom Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is the BEST Barley Pilaf I've ever tasted. Absolutely delicious. I needed to cook the full hour for 6 servings, although I had a bit less than called for mushrooms and a bit more onion. I might ease up on the butter a bit - it was definitely "pooling" a bit in the pot when cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Soooo good, and perfectly comforting on this chilly November evening. The only thing I did differently was to stir in about 1/2 C of cheese at the end with the parsley. That made it creamy and delicious! Next time I might try to cut down on the butter a bit but otherwise this is a keeper. A nice way to get some variety on whole grains. One tip - don't use quick cooking barley or the grain/liquid ratio will be off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
OMG!! This was so good. I will definately do over. I did exactly as receipe called for except for the sherry. I didn't have so I used port instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I've been wanting to try Sunny's barley pilaf for two years! Why did I wait?!!! It is delicious! I scaled it down to three servings as it's just the two of us. I used my own smoked chicken stock and followed the recipe to a "T" except for cooking on the stovetop rather than baking. It took 50 minutes and then I let it "rest" covered on the stove. Thanks, Sunny, for this winning recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Great recipe. So easy and yummy. Very good leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrealikestocook
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Thank you Sunny! Awesome. Wonderfully different. I used beef broth and shitakes. Outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Wow!! I had never made barley before in anything but soup and this really transformed barley from a background player to a real star for me! This had such a delicious earthiness to it that my husband and I adored. It reheated the next day beautifully and this will become a staple for me. It called for Pearl Barley, and I'm not sure if that is what I used or not. I used bulk organic barley from Whole Foods, and it took a little longer to cook than the recipe stated. Also, I wouldn't substitute the fresh parsley for dried in this since it added a touch of fresh and bright to an otherwise brown and earthy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
What a nice change of pace after having only ever trying barley in soups. This was very filling- I followed the recipe ingredients exactly, but did cook on stove top- making it quicker. I like the chewiness of the barley and the meaty-flavor of the mushrooms. I found that this made my blood sugar more even throughout the evening- a plus for those of us who are diabetic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I cut the whole recipe in half (perfect for two servings without leftovers), and simmered on the stove with rosemary instead of basil. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made this for Christmas and it was heavenly! I added Roma tomatoes and another reviewer suggested. I made this a day in advance then transferred to an electric food warmer an hour before dinner. Next time I will make this with low sodium vegetable broth so that my vegetarian guests can eat it. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States