Byrdhouse Mushroom Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I was really hopeful for this recipe. Whole grains, sherry and mushrooms- I didn't think it was possible to go wrong. But the flavor just wasn't very good. It was flat, without much depth, and fairly boring. Followed the recipe to a "t", but it really didn't impress me. To fix the leftovers, I made a sherry chive pan sauce. Saute 2 tablespoons grated onion in 2 tablespoons of butter for 1 minute. Deglaze with a 3 tablespoons of sherry, and reduce slightly. Add 2 cups( or 1 can) chicken stock, and reduce to half. Add 1 tablespoon of chopped chives, and 2 tablespoons of butter off the heat, and pour over the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I never write reviews of recipes. I had to for this though! Phenomenal in every respect! My fsmily loved it. So easy to prepare too. I used unsalted butter and my own homemade chicken broth; otherwise followed recipe exactly. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Haven't had (or cooked with) barley in anything besides beef barley soup, so wanted to give this a try. It was really good served with a chicken breast on top. I had the leftovers for the next few days by itself and it was still good reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Verrry good! I added some pine nuts & a shallot to the onion & garlic saute, but I think it would have been just as good without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I love barley in any form; this is one of the nicest comfort foods I can imagine. The flavor doesn't overpower, but it's tasty; good with pork roast or pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
The ingredients worked well together for a subtle and rich flavor. I followed the instructions exactly and the results were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Very good and easy. Would definitely try adding spinach or roasted red pepper for some different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I tried this recipe to replace noodles, rice and potatoes as side dishes due to health reasons. My husband is a die hard meat and potatoes man, but he really liked this recipe. I didn't put in the mushrooms or the basil but it was still really good. I also used olive oil instead of butter. What I liked about it is that it kind of makes its own creamy sauce so you don't have to put anything on it when its done. I'm trying it tonight but adding celery and carrots and using beer instead of wine and beef broth instead of chicken broth. This is a great, healthy, and cheap side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I liked it, but didn't love it. My husband didn't finish his, which NEVER happens. Probably wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States