Byrdhouse Mushroom Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Not a fan of this. The flavor wasn't that impressive - and I even used fresh basil instead of dried. Worse, it burned in the oven even though I had it in for less than 45.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Wow. This was soooo good. It was comforting, like SunnyByrd said. My whole family loved it. The only sub I made was I used Sauvignon Blanc instead of the sherry (it's what I had) but it was still fantastic! What a winner, thank you Sunny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Delicious!! I've made this recipe twice and one time with beef broth instead. I mixed in chopped asparagus during the last 20mins of baking just for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This was a really nice side dish - nutty and flavorful. I used olive oil instead of butter, and cut it to 2 T. I also cut the sherry (I actually used brandy) to 2 T. since I was serving it to children. we found that the prefect amount, can't imagine using any more. Also no need to cook and then bake, I just did the whole thing in a pot and kept cooked it for an additional 30 minutes after the first two steps. This went very well with fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
very yummy healthy side dish -I didn't have sherry-used 1/4 cup cheap wine and 1/4 cup peach/white grape juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I halved the recipe since it was just for me and felt it was missing something. Since I went out and bought sherry just to make this, I was determined to have it turn out yummy. I added a dash each of cayenne and hot sauce - not enough to make it spicy, but enough to enhance the flavors. After cooking the recipe on the stovetop (I had added a reduced sodium chicken bouillon cube along with the chicken broth and skipped baking it) I added a finely diced roma tomato and 1/4 cup parmesan. This helped the dish. This recipe is easy to make and you can add a bunch of chopped veggies to it. For me, it was a 2-3 star as written, but with changes, at least a 4 star. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This had wonderful flavor and was such a nice change from rice. I made the recipe exactly as stated (except I completely forgot to add the parsely in at the end!). It had the chewiness you get from barley - but, was also creamy like a risotto. My husband said the flavor reminded him of something you would get in an upscale restaurant. Really good - thanks Sunnybyrd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This was delicious! I made this for a holiday party and got lots of compliments. I used just a few diced up canned mushrooms because I was unsure if others liked mushrooms or not. I also used dried minced onions. I omitted the sherry because I'm not a fan of the flavor and just added water instead. It took about an hour to cook covered on the stovetop over medium heat. This would be great as a meal with chicken and broccoli or other veggies added! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Very good! I used low sodium better than bouillon, and barely added any salt so I didn't find it too salty at all. Forgot to buy sherry so used a dry white wine instead, but will do sherry next time for sure. THX! to tat2whttrsh's review mentioning this on the Caribbean Spiced Chicken review, that's how I found this one, and the 2 dishes did go perfectly together as she said... even though they're very different tastes, the thyme ties it together and it's a nice balance. Also made with roasted beets and sweets (my fave!) and a big salad and it all made a FANTASTIC fall Sunday family dinner! Will DEFINITELY make this one again, maybe turn it into a one dish meal as suggested. Also, when I'm having people over I try to 'prep' as much as possible so I'm not cooking too much when I could be visiting, so I sauteed everything, added the wine, set it in the frige for about 2 hrs., just before guests arrived I boiled the barley in the broth apx. 5 mins, mixed it all together and left in the frige another hour before baking one hour... Came out PERFECT!!! THNX Sunny Byrd!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yellowpairs ♥
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
GREAT recipe! I used half chicken half beef broth, baby bella shrooms, and omitted parsley simply because I had none. I also do not own a dutch oven, so I made it all on the stovetop. It took a little over an hour on medium-low heat for all the liquid to absorb for me. What an AMAZING depth of flavor! This dish left me feeling very full and satisfied, we will definitely be making this one again! Thanks for the awesome recipe Sunnybyrd! Who knew barley could be so good without soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yellowpairs ♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States