Byrdhouse Mushroom Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I've been wanting to try Sunny's barley pilaf for two years! Why did I wait?!!! It is delicious! I scaled it down to three servings as it's just the two of us. I used my own smoked chicken stock and followed the recipe to a "T" except for cooking on the stovetop rather than baking. It took 50 minutes and then I let it "rest" covered on the stove. Thanks, Sunny, for this winning recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Great recipe. So easy and yummy. Very good leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrealikestocook
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Thank you Sunny! Awesome. Wonderfully different. I used beef broth and shitakes. Outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Wow!! I had never made barley before in anything but soup and this really transformed barley from a background player to a real star for me! This had such a delicious earthiness to it that my husband and I adored. It reheated the next day beautifully and this will become a staple for me. It called for Pearl Barley, and I'm not sure if that is what I used or not. I used bulk organic barley from Whole Foods, and it took a little longer to cook than the recipe stated. Also, I wouldn't substitute the fresh parsley for dried in this since it added a touch of fresh and bright to an otherwise brown and earthy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
What a nice change of pace after having only ever trying barley in soups. This was very filling- I followed the recipe ingredients exactly, but did cook on stove top- making it quicker. I like the chewiness of the barley and the meaty-flavor of the mushrooms. I found that this made my blood sugar more even throughout the evening- a plus for those of us who are diabetic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I cut the whole recipe in half (perfect for two servings without leftovers), and simmered on the stove with rosemary instead of basil. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made this for Christmas and it was heavenly! I added Roma tomatoes and another reviewer suggested. I made this a day in advance then transferred to an electric food warmer an hour before dinner. Next time I will make this with low sodium vegetable broth so that my vegetarian guests can eat it. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I didn't like the consistancy. It was kinda "slimey". Good flavor, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TSchritter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Arizona, USA
Living In: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I would give this a 100 stars if I could!! Wow, soooooo incredibly delicious!!!! Entire family LOVED it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Moist, flavorful, and delicious! My grocery store only carried quick Barley (cooks in 10 minutes), so instead of baking it in the oven, I just prepared the onions, garlic, mushrooms, and sherry as stated in the recipe, and then added 2 cups of chicken broth, 1 cup of barley, brought it to a boil, put the lid on, and simmered it for ten or eleven minutes. After letting it stand for a bit, I added the parsley. It turned out really well and was a quick way to make a tasty pilaf. Perhaps it would have been better with regular barley, but since I haven't eaten much barley in my life, I really didn't notice a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States