Byrdhouse Mushroom Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Verrry good! I added some pine nuts & a shallot to the onion & garlic saute, but I think it would have been just as good without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I love barley in any form; this is one of the nicest comfort foods I can imagine. The flavor doesn't overpower, but it's tasty; good with pork roast or pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
The ingredients worked well together for a subtle and rich flavor. I followed the instructions exactly and the results were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Very good and easy. Would definitely try adding spinach or roasted red pepper for some different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I tried this recipe to replace noodles, rice and potatoes as side dishes due to health reasons. My husband is a die hard meat and potatoes man, but he really liked this recipe. I didn't put in the mushrooms or the basil but it was still really good. I also used olive oil instead of butter. What I liked about it is that it kind of makes its own creamy sauce so you don't have to put anything on it when its done. I'm trying it tonight but adding celery and carrots and using beer instead of wine and beef broth instead of chicken broth. This is a great, healthy, and cheap side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I liked it, but didn't love it. My husband didn't finish his, which NEVER happens. Probably wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I love this. thanks for sharing a really good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This was fabulous! I had picked up some Asian pressed barley at the International Marketplace, and after doing an internet search for a recipe, I just decided to use it in this one. It came out great! I halved the recipe since there were only two of us and it didn't seem to affect the outcome at all. Very, very good recipe. Thanks, SunnyByrd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is the BEST Barley Pilaf I've ever tasted. Absolutely delicious. I needed to cook the full hour for 6 servings, although I had a bit less than called for mushrooms and a bit more onion. I might ease up on the butter a bit - it was definitely "pooling" a bit in the pot when cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States