Byrdhouse Easy Ginger Beef Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Wonderful recipes. Even better if bell peppers added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This is so simple and delicious! I added cheese to the rolls and toasted them in the oven as suggested. Sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Once you have the ingredients prepped, the cooking part takes 10 mins. It's so quick! I left the soy sauce and chili oil (I used chili powder) out of the mixture and just seasoned each sandwich to taste. The flavors were light yet explosive! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLB811

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This was delicious! I recommend getting your meat cut at the butchers, it will save lots of time! I used bell peppers since I'm not a fan of celery. I also cooked the onions and bell peppers first, set aside, cooked meat then added veggies back in. I sprayed hoagies with butter, added meat & veggies, topped with provolone and broiled in oven. YUM!! thanks for sharing this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Outstanding. Another great recipe from another one of the allrecipe people I love to follow. I like mine light with the celery. Kinda like the photo... thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oldsingledad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
These were very good. We used hoagie rolls from the bakery and I think the rolls were to much for the meat mixture. Next time I make I will try with a potato roll used for hamburgers. My kids did love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was fast and easy. I had this finished in less than 3o minutes from slicing the partially frozen steak to the table. I didn't have soy sauce so I used Teriaki instead. I misread the directions and used 1Tbl. of chili oil instead of only 1 tsp. I liked this sandwich quite a bit, but I love spicy and I love ginger, and this started with my favorites onion and garlic so I was already sold. The family didn't like this so maybe it's too girly (or metro) for their manly man palates of steak and potatoes. I'd eat this again, my men voted against this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Really nice flavor! Instead of sirloin, I used beef tender steak, because it was lower in fat. I also didn't have any chili oil so I just added a shake of Tabasco sauce. I split hoagie buns, put provolone cheese on the bottom and heated them in the oven so the buns were warm and the cheese was melted. I then filled them with the meat mixture and added just a little more cheese and broiled. The gingerroot gave these sandwiches a nice twist. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Very good. I didn't end up with a sauce, but I may have had the heat up too high, and I started with already cooked steak, so that could've made the difference. The flavor was still there, though, so it's all good. I don't have chili oil and subbed sweet chili sauce--just a bit, since it is quite a strong taste. I like all the flavors in this, and served on Syrian bread that I rolled kind of like a burrito. Thanks for the recipe Sunny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I wanted to use some beef I had previously cut up into small cubes, so this recipe looked great. I chose to put the beef in my crock pot, just covered with water, added a little bit of diced onion, shook out some garlic powder and ginger powder (nothing fresh in my house), skipped the celery (too much work) and chili oil (had none), and splashed in some soy sauce. Cooked it until the meat was done through, tasted, added more ginger and soy, cooked until husband was home and ready to eat. I used sliced french bread (what was on hand), toasted at least enough to be hot, placed thinly sliced cheddar on each piece to melt and prevent the bread from getting soggy, and strained the beef mixture through a slotted spoon before piling it in between the bread. I added cornstarch to the resultant broth to make a gravy for dipping for my husband. My 2 1/2 year old son liked it, and my (picky) husband said the sandwiches were really good and agreed to eat them again. I win! The flavors ended up being mild, more of an aftertaste, which I liked really well. I rated this 5 stars because it would be really good as written and was very easy to modify/hard to mess up when you don't measure, and because the ingredients are every-day sorts of food. Thanks for a delicious dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States