Byrdhouse Blistered Cherry Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Mmmm... so good! Be sure to eat them right away, they're best when hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I added a bit more sugar. I liked the taste but it has to watched closely. Once it blisters, you could be left with mushy tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I LOVE tomatoes - especially in season - I come from NJ where our tomatoes really are the best. This recipe did not do it for us at all. I'll stick with roasting for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Was looking for a fresh tasting "sauce" to use on top of my spinach/ham manicotti. I found this recipe and was not disappointed. Did add a small amount of garlic powder along with the basil, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
In my opinion this is nothing special. It is a good way to use cherry tomatoes if you have an abundance (As I did from the garden). The taste was Ok, but like I said nothing special. I think you could roast these in the oven and the flavor may deepen a bit. On the upside this is super super simple to make. I did use fresh basil as I had it on hand. It's not that I wouldn't make this again. It's just that it was kind of boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
These were surprisingly delicious! I don't usually enjoy tomatoes with sugar added, but the slight sweetness from the small amount of sugar paired really nicely with the Italian Seasoning (I was at my parents' house and they didn't have basil). I had an abundance of cherry tomatoes given to me by a generous co-worker and I've seen this recipe recommended many times on the Recipe Exchange, so I decided to give them a try. I served these with steak, potatoes, and fresh baked 10-grain bread. I'm hoping my co-worker has extra tomatoes again soon so I can have these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Simple and delicious! I cooked mine until they were hot all the way through and were starting to burst! Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
These are excellent! I used grape tomatoes- fantastic! I'll do this one again, it's so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Yumyum Sunny. Thanks for recipe. I used some frozen /fresh basil instead of dried and it was very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Thanks Sunny! I have cherry tomatoes growing out the wazoo this year and am always looking for new things to do with them. I used fresh basil and they were lovely. I also really like making these to put into salads - like pasta salad and such - a nice change of pace from regular tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

How to Prepare Fresh Tomatoes

See how to prepare fresh tomatoes for salads, salsas, and sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States