Byrdhouse Blistered Cherry Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This recipe was fantastic!! I actually cut the tomatoes in half and added about 2 tablespoons of lemon juice and garlic. With the tomatoes cut in half and the lemon juice added, it made a juice. They taste AMAZING...I think I will actually serve this over angel hair pasta for dinner. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
We liked these very much. I did add some chopped garlic and topped it all with fresh basil. Will serve this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
These were great! This was a great way to use up a bunch of cherry tomatoes from the garden. I loved the slight sweetness from the sugar. I will make this many more times. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Perfect! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I loved them! Sweet and tender, bursting with flavor! So easy to make My husband is not a fan though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I loved this recipe! I have so many cherry tomatoes from the garden and was running out of ideas to use them. I eliminated the sugar and added minced garlic to the butter (also used just a little olive oil too). I used fresh basil from the garden instead of dried. My family really liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fillmore, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I thought these tasted okay. I have never had blistered tomatoes before. The only change I made was using about 1/2 the dry basil, as I find it kind of strong, and using kosher salt. I jumped when the first one split open as it made quite the spitting sound. The skins on my tomatoes seemed kind of tough. I don't think it was the recipe, but more likely because it has been kind of hot and hard on the garden. No one but me ate any and the next day they took on a sharp vinegary taste, for some reason, so some got tossed. Interesting recipe to try anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I used fresh basil, added a little olive oil and omitted the sugar. We loved this alongside our egg breakfast this morning for something a little different from the sliced tomatoes we generally have. Works well as sort of a garnish and plate filler too, adding color and interest, not to mention a nutrition bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Yummy and very easy!!! I used olive oil insead of butter and added shallots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Mmmm... so good! Be sure to eat them right away, they're best when hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

How to Prepare Fresh Tomatoes

See how to prepare fresh tomatoes for salads, salsas, and sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States