Buttery Yeast Spritz Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Delicious! My new go-to recipe for Spritz cookies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Normally, spritz cookies are boring, dry, forgettable (but cute) little bites. This is the recipe that puts an end to all that. They're everything we love about butter cookies, on steroids!! I, too, did a double-take at a cookie recipe that uses yeast. But I'm so glad I tried it. They're absolutely WONDERFUL!! The yeast does unparalleled wonders to point up the buttery nature of these gems. I have found that they benefit from a couple of pinches of salt, particularly if you use unsalted butter, and a dash of extract. I have used vanilla, almond and coconut on various occasions, and even a mixture of those three, which gave an inscrutable, but delectable result. The texture is of a fine crumb: not dry, not crispy but tender and delicate. These actually taste as good as they look!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
The yeast definitely helps bring out the butter flavor. I think these are great, but mine are a bit too yeasty. Maybe I let the yeast/water mixture sit too long? Regardless, I'll make them again. Super easy dough to work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coralie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Absolutely wonderful tender buttery cookies. A little delicate for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Streeter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I was a little leery about the yeast thing, but wow, these are fantastic! Very melt-in-your-mouth good! Just a tip though...don't eat the dough raw. Not too good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hancock, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I added princess flavor and green food coloring for Christmas trees. They finished baking at 5 minutes. Delicious cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These are the absolute best butter spritz cookie I have ever made! I halved the recipe and added about a 1/2 tsp. vanilla. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Aha! Thank you! I was looking for the best Spritz Recipe. I brought some from the store the other day... and decided to try to make my own for Christmas. These are so much better... now the store brought ones are just sitting on my counter not getting eaten. Oh well I guess that happens XD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Very light, very delicate, tender shortbread type cookie. This was the easiest dough I have worked with for cookie press cookies. I am not the most experienced with my press, but this dough was easy to work with, was very very buttery, and these are like shortbread in that they melt in your mouth. I baked the first batch for 7 minutes which was way too long and it ended up taking only 5 minutes in my oven at 400*. I added 1/4 tsp salt since I was using unsalted butter. And no, you can't even taste the yeast. Thanks for a great recipe. I would use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I halved this because I was so unsure of the yeast but I wanted to try a new spritz recipe. The only change was to add vanilla and almond extracts. I also baked the spritz recipe my German mother and I have been using for over 40 years. In side by side taste tests 7 of 7 of us preferred this recipe. No contest! This will be the recipe I pass down to my children and someday grandchildren! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5COOKIEMUNCHERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndeborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States