Buttery Soft Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I tried this today. My son and I are gluten free. I used Bob's Red Mill all purpose baking flour and one teaspoon of xanthan gum. When we were ready. I did not put it in the water solution right away. I baked them on a silpat for about 5 mintues, then used a slotted spoon to dip and coat them in the hot water for a few seconds. After all the pretzels were dipped in the solution, I spread melted butter and salt on them and I baked for another five minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania1217

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Love this recipe! I agree with everyone about not adding all the flour at once. Definitely let the dough rise as mentioned but also after you've formed the pretzel shapes. Still trying to figure out how to get that crispy outside...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Requires more water than indicated, and honestly, I can't find where the butter is in this recipe for it to be called "buttery." Not in ingredient list, not in directions. Just mentioned by reviewers and in the description. Weird. So I add about 4 tablespoons to the dough and another 1/4-1/3 cup of water. They do come out quite delicious, soft, and chewy with these additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
These pretzels were amazing. My husband and I really enjoyed them. I followed the recipe as given. This recipe was simple and easy. The pretzel tasted just like Auntie Anne's pretzels at the mall. It only took me about two hours to make. I used more butter for taste. I also drizzle a little cinnamon and sugar with extra butter. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Super easy recipe and turns out great! Like others I used 3.5 cups of flour and baked it for 8 min at 400F
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Brush with egg whites before baking to get a golden crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kea027

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
First of all, to make a good pretzel, you really just need any basic dough recipe and the baking soda bath. The baking soda bath is what makes it pretzelly. The key alterations I found was that I only needed about 3 cups of flour. If you didn't read the reviews and started with 5 cups of flour, your pretzels will suck. I also changed was only using half the amount of water/baking soda for the bath (and I still had more than I needed for 12 pretzels - you could probably 1/4 it). 4 tsp of yeast is a lot for something that doesn't actually need to ride all that much. You can get away with just 2 or 3. The other thing the recipe was missing was instructions for rolling out the dough. I divided my dough into 12 parts rolled each piece between my hands into a fat snake (like you'd do with playdough). Then I used my rolling pin to roll it into a long flat strip (about 24 inches). Once I got the length I needed, I rounded it out to the thickness of my finger. I also cooked mine at 450 for 15 minutes but I've seen a variety of reviews about cooking for less or lower temps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This is a good recipe. I made it according to the recipe and I will make the following changes listed in some of the other reviews: I will try to roll them thinner/longer, cook it at a slightly lower temperature to cook the middle better, and try using 4 cups of flour (as i had to add quite a bit of water to get the dough right). Good with butter and salt; and butter, cinnamon, and sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiesnbubbles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is an awesome recipe, and very easy. I brushed the finished pretzels with melted butter, and that made the slightly over-browned bottom good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
These pretzels were good and the dough was very easy to work with. I used 4 cups of flour and that was plenty. I did have problems with them sticking to the pan. Greased, ungreased, parchment paper, greased parchment paper - didn't matter - they stuck to the pans. I even tried "drying" them off slightly from the soda bath, but they still stuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,586) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States