Buttery Soft Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
These just did not turn out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
These were soooo good! I followed the recipe as is but then simmered the pretzels for about 10 seconds each in the baking soda/water mixture. I turned the oven on 400 degrees and I am glad I did because they were dark at that temperature. I can't even imagine them any higher. I brushed butter on them after they came out of the oven and left some like that, some with mustard, and some with cinnamon sugar. They were all so good! They didn't need any salt because of all the salt in the recipe, baking soda is salty and I used salted butter. I will definitely make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I made this and it was simple. I only ended up using about 3.5c. of KA bread flour. Instead of oil, I used melted butter, and I used 1/2 of brown sugar! These are quick, easy, tasty, and I will make these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOLDENPHOENIX82

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Naples, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I make this quite often. And it normally comes awesome. I can make it sweeter or not. FLuffy big or littles one. After reading the reviews i think some dont know how to read the dough and correct it as needed. Its a family hit that doesnt last long. And you do not need a breadmaker to knead the dough. Its tough until you get the hang of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
These were amazing pretzels! Great taste, fabulous consistency, and very soft!It was hard for me to get the shape down but once I got used it, I had a fun time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
This is the best pretzel recipe I have tried! I have been using it for about a year now and am never disappointed. I have tried them plain, with herbs, with garlic and cheese, and with various other things in them and they are always soft and delicious. I have never been able to make them for other people unfortunately because I know I would eat them all before I made it there... Make sure you don't add all the flour though, just add it in gradually and stop when the dough stops being sticky. I like to sprinkle kosher salt on them right after I dip them in the baking soda bath and then brush them with melted butter after they come out of the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
These pretzels are AWESOME. Nice and soft. I only used 1/4 c sugar, but next time I think I'll just use the full amount. They weren't too sweet at all. The dough can freeze, too. After the first rise, snip off some and wrap well in plastic. Take it out of the freezer and let defrost in the fridge, then proceed with the rolling and baking. Excellent, thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Yumyum! I love soft pretzels so I decided to give these a try. I made a few small adjustments, and they turned out great! 1. I only used three cups of flour, but when I kneaded, I sprinkled a little more on every few minutes until the dough was no longer sticky. 2. I used mostly whole-wheat flour, which bumped up the overall healthiness and (I don't think) made them taste any worse. 3. I used 2 cups water and 1/4 Baking soda for the bath. TIP: Use a thermometer to make sure your water for the yeast mixture is warm enough. Boil the water lightly when making the baking soda mix, it will dissolve very easily. After dipping them in the mix, let them drip for a second or two over the bowl before placing them on the pan, it will make cleaning easier. Melt butter and dip the pretzels in it for a tasty treat. Put your oven at 325* instead, the bottoms will not be so brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Very tasty, my kids wolfed these down!! Will be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
My family love this recipe; we used to get soft pretzel at the old Price Club (now Costco) but they stopped making these a long time ago; we have been looking for a recipe that's good and had failed many times. My daughters told me: we FOUND IT. I added an additional 1/4 cup of warm water and reduce the flour by one cup. Delicious and freeze well too. Thank you, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,553) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Baked Soft Pretzels

Use your bread machine to make perfectly soft baked pretzels.

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States