Buttery Soft Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by jwr
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I didn't follow these directions exactly. The dough was mixed and kneaded in a bread machine (90 minutes). Then I rolled out the pretzels and let them rise for an hour. After that I boiled the water and baking soda for a 1 minute bath. The boiling bath gave them a tougher outer shell (like a bagel). In the end they came out great. We even had enough dough for 16. So we made a braided strand and a roll for practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Not bad overall - but making the actual pretzel shape is more difficult than it looks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I thought this was great. I'm sure it would work well with less flour, but I stuck to the recipe anyway.I let the dough rise for 90 minutes, because it seemed a little bit too firm. I suggest that you knead the dough a second time and let it rise another 90 minutes (that is what I did and they came out great).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dadventure Family

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This is the first time I've made anything with yeast. I followed the recipe and directions exactly. These were FANTASTIC! I did six with kosher salt and six with cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Love these! Family requests them all the time! Fun to make with the kids!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Sooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
these are by far the best pretzel recipe I have found great texture great flavor and keeps well. this is one that will stay at the top of the recipe box... thanks so much for sharing.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
We loved these pretzels!! So soft and yummy! I only rated a 4 because I had to adjust the recipe a bit. I only used about 3.5 cups of flour(and a little when kneading) like other reviews mentioned and had to adjust the temp to down to 410* and I couldn't figure out the "buttery" part of the recipe. After reading reviews I noticed many people brushed them with butter or sprayed them with butter. Had I not had to make adjustments, I would have given a 5 because these are so good. Better and less expensive than the mall ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlwolf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by littleChef
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
After reading reviews and looking at the pics I decided to try it.Everyone loved them my family is VERY picky and partial to the ones at malls ect and they devoured them as soon as they came out of the oven I used one pack of yeast and had to add about 1/4 cup extra water also I tried flouring the surface for the individual pretzels before rolling and it wouldn't roll out right so I tried without and it worked great!! Also if u reuse your baking sheet make sure u scrape it off good before second round or u will have a black baking soda bottom and will make them taste very gross. All and all it's an awesome recipe and I will definitely be using it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This was a pretty good recipie! However, I would place a piece of parchment paper on the cookie sheet before you dip the pretzels in the baking soda solution. The solution permanently stained my cookie sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,621) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States