Buttery Soft Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
These are the best! Way too much flour though. Start with 4 c and add from there. I also decided to make mini pretzel sticks. They were about 1 1/2" around and 2-3" long. Making the sticks, I was able to make around 18 to 20 instead of the recommended 12. The first time I made them I foolishly added all 5 cups of flour and there was so much I couldn't roll the dough out. I almost threw the batch away but decided to make it, this is when I made the sticks, by squeezing the dough instead of rolling it; even with too much flour, they were still very good. I have since figured out how the dough should feel. I usually make 2 batches in a day (not a double batch, double batches often don't work and I don't want to waste all the ingredients). My husband and kids are always begging me to make more and I am always willing to oblige!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I read some of the reviews for this recipe and adjusted by using 3 1/2 c of flour, used 1/4 c sugar, used butter instead of vegatable oil, NO salt...only for topping, and cut back to 2 tsp baking soda and 1 cup of hot water...Baked at 400 degrees for 9 minutes...THESE WERE GREAT!!! I loved them just as much as those sold in the mall. I recommend them and have already shared this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tearcyn's Mom Forever
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Woke up this morning at 4:00 a.m. Checked out my daily e-mail from All Recipes and found this one. Since the hubby and I both LOVE pretzels and I had all the ingredients on hand I decided to give it a "twist & try"! I always read the reviews first and like others I cut down the flour to 4 cups but followed recipe exactly after that until coming to the baking soda solution. I just used 2 tsp. baking soda and 1 cup water (as suggested by another reviewer) and periodically warmed it up in the micro when it cooled down or between batches. Hubby loved them and he is EXTREMELY picky! I think we have a keeper except I really, really, really need practice at "twisting a pretzel". (as you can see by my photo)! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tearcyn's Mom Forever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winston, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
This recipe is perfect. I make snacks like this and my wife will try but not ususally interested after that. She has had one each day for three days and raved about them each time. Perfect recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luv2cook
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Needed less flour than called for (~4 cups) but added a tablespoon of gluten (or you can use bread flour instead). The texture seemed more like a bagel than a pretzel, but they're practically the same things. I shaped them into treble clefs (musical theme) as a gift to a music teacher. I thought they came out great after buttering them and sprinkling cinnamon & sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Very good, thanks to the suggestions of other reviewers! I only used 3.5 cups of bread flour and that was plenty. I also only baked for about 9 minutes at 400. I decided to make half cinnamon sugar, and the other half garlic salt. They didn't last long. These are very close to the pretzels I love in the mall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
My daughter and I just made these pretzels this morning and they turned out so Yummy! I only needed 4 cups of flour. I will definitely make this again. My daughter said it's better than the mall-kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I tried this recipe as my first attempt at making pretzels. Right off the bat, the first thing I thought was "That's an awful lot of flour". I also noted that it required nearly double the amount of yeast for any other pretzel recipe. Those should have been my red flags, but I stuck with the recipe. The dough turned out terribly dry! Adding "2 tablespoons of water" did nothing to fix this. I added spoon after spoon. Nothing. It rose, but was dry and unable to be formed in to pretzels at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
My five-year old son and I made these delicious, melt-in-your mouth, fluffy, soft pretzels today! The recipe is very easy to follow and worked very well for a novice breadmaker, like me. I followed many of the reviewers' suggestion to decrease the amount of flour, so I used 4 cups, but I still found the dough to be a bit dry. To compensate, I had to add approximately 1 tablespoon of water, which made the dough pull together quite nicely. Out of the oven, we brushed the tops with butter and sprinkled some with cinnamon sugar. My husband declared that these pretzels are much better than the mall pretzels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carson's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
No Butter in recipe but it sure tastes like it. First time making pretzels! Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fuzzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nokesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,555) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Baked Soft Pretzels

Use your bread machine to make perfectly soft baked pretzels.

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States