Buttery Soft Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I have made these a couple of times now and I must say these are by far the best tasting pretzels I've ever had. I always have to decrease my flour by 2/3 of a cup though. I'm thinking maybe it's the elevation I'm at. Today - I came up with adding 1/4 c. jalapeno powder, 1 large diced jalapeno's and 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese to the dough. These are estimates because I cook by sight lol. All I can say is WOW! They were amazing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Delicious pretzels!!! They don't have quite the mall look, (I have a whole new appreciation for the skill it takes to shape dough into a pretzel now.) but they look, smell, and taste delicious. I read a few reviews before I tackled this recipe and the modifications were very helpful. I baked them at 400 for 10 minutes and that was perfect. (4500' elevation) A little less flour was helpful too, I think I used about 3.5 - 4.0 cups. The other modification I made was brushing on the baking soda solution vs attempting to dip the dough into it. I couldn't keep the dough from disintegrating and falling apart. (It may be because I have a highly developed skill in dunking Oreo Cookies and that technique does not transfer into dunking raw pretzel dough.) When I took them out of the oven they were golden brown and smelled wonderful. A little spray butter and whaa-laa ... delicious pretzels!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
this is a simple recipe and baking soda bath makes them perfect thanks for sharing christa rose
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Love these. This recipe is perfect. Others have too much sugar. I find it hard with the twisting, so I just make pretzel logs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Wonderful! I needed to bake them longer than 8 minutes, but they are just amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Really tasty. Make sure to roll these out as long as you can, because mine, while delicious, were too doughy. Browned nicely though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsmemaggi
Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Excellent recipe. The only thing I changed was I put 2 tblsp. sugar instead of 1/2 cup because I didn't want them that sweet. Just my personal preference. My kids and I love to dip our pretzels in honey mustard. I mix equal parts of honey and yellow mustard. If you don't like yellow mustard you could use dijon instead. We also like strawberry cream cheese. I have tried a couple of the other recipes on this sight and so far this is the best one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krazee4cookin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
These were decent. I admit Im not a baker by any means. I think these would be great with more practice. Its kind of a lot to make a whole doughball, roll it out, etc. I overcooked on accident so mine came out too hard and chewy (my own fault). I may make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I LOVE pretzels, so finding this recipe made me so happy! However the amount of flour is ridiculous. You need half the amount. I used the 6 cups and the dough wouldn't form, so I made double the yeast mixture and it evened it out. But they tasted fabulous and are definitely better than store bought pretzels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Made my very first pretzels! Read the reviews, went easy on the flour and they turn out good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DemonicMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States