Buttery Soft Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
AMAZING! This was the first time I tried making pretzels and they came out great. I liked how the dough was sweet and it had a salty crunchy crust. The only thing I recommend is brushing the tops with an egg wash before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Wow, I had high hopes for this recipe. At first, the dough was far too dry and the 1 to 2 tablespoons of water did absolutely nothing. I tried adding even more water, a WHOLE LOT, and it barely made the dough any better. Then, the dough would not rise! I let it rise for two hours, and it barely rose at all and dried out! Hardly none of the dough was salvageable so I tossed the lot of it. A waste of time. I am open to trying it again but the recipe as it is seems flawed to me. Maybe I did something wrong but that's not like me. 0/10 would not recommend as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I tried making these pretzels and they tasted like rolls instead of pretzels. Not good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This pretzel recipe was delicious. After making it though, I decided next time, I will brush with egg before salting then cooking. I really do love the shine and texture an egg coating gives pretzels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Wonderful! I have never made pretzels before and these were perfect. I followed some advice from other reviews and baked them at 430 instead and brushed them with butter before sprinkling the salt and baking. I also put a glass of hot water in the oven and covered the bowl with a damp towel during the rising time. Absolutely delicious I will definitely be making more I just hope they will be as great the second day as they are fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fruit-pie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Easier said than done :( My dough never got to the right consistency... after lot's and lots... and LOTS of trying (stirring by hand), I gave up and made a few pretzels. They came out super doughy in the middle. So I made pretzel sticks which didn't have a very authentic pretzel taste, but my kids did happily eat them since we had some cheese sauce to dip them in. More effort than it was worth. Might be better with an electric mixer (???).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
i made this and followed people reviews use 3 cups of flour then add more as you kneed the dough, also i found the 4 cups of water and baking soda is excessive and wasteful, i used one cup of water with 2 tbsp of baking soda and it came out just perfect and tastey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
The recipe is just plain wrong. It's no surprise so many reviewers say, "I just added flour until..." because the recipe calls for far too much water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Really easy to make and very versatile. I bake them as directed, with a bit more water to make up for the extra flour, and dip them in butter and cinnamon sugar after. My boyfriend loves these and will eat the dough raw. I want to try dipping them in sesame seeds too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I have made at least 5 different pretzel recipes recently, trying to find a good one and this is it! The search is now over, they didn't even make it an hour out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,552) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Baked Soft Pretzels

Use your bread machine to make perfectly soft baked pretzels.

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States