Buttery Pan Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
The rolls were great! They were easy to make and tasted wonderful. I needed to make individual rolls and was able to do so with this recipe. I took someone's suggestion of making monkey bread with half of the recipe. Oh my gosh....It was delicious! I rolled the dough balls in butter and then dipped them in a brown sugar mix (1/2 cup brown sugar, 1 tsp. cinnamon). Once they were out of the oven, I poured on a glaze (powdered sugar, water, and almond extract). They were so delicious! I had to freeze that batch so I would stop eating them. It makes a great breakfast treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
The recipe is easy to follow and the rolls couldn't have come out any better! I had been searching for a recipe like this one for a long time so I could stop buying those yummy buttery rolls and make them myself and this is it! Read carefully and take your time and anyone can make these and they definately get a gold star! Fabulous tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
This was great! I made the dough in my bread machine (knead until mixed). Let rise then formes into balls and let rise overnight in fridge. I didn't drizzle with butter before baking and it seemed fine. The rolls stayed fresh for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
These are OK as written. I had issues with rising when I made them as written, and I didn't get 40 rolls out of a single recipe--I got about 65 out of a double batch. They second time I made them, I proofed the yeast first, which took care of the issues I had the first time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
Fabulous rolls! I used half the dough for dinner rolls and made monkey bread (small rolls dipped in butter, then cinnamon-sugar) for breakfast the next day. Both received lots of compliments and I thought they were easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A & R's Mommy
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
The best bun recipe that I have tried on allrecipes.com! My family is a little neurotic and will only eat the soft inner buns as opposed to the crusty outer buns... I know, we're weird. As opposed to throwing out more than half of my hard work I used one 9x13 greased baking pan, reduced the total number from 40 buns to 30, took six of the rolls of dough, rolled them out and lined the inner walls of the pan with them, then followed the rest of the instructions as written. The result: 24 nice, soft inner buns... and four crusty walls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A & R's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Perfect! Everyone was jealous that my rolls turned out so nicely and they were gone in a couple of minutes. I have made them a few times since and even substituted half whole wheat flour with no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I wanted a refrigerated type of roll dough, and i decided to try this as I couldn't remember mine from about 40 yrs ago, and didn't have success locating one on AR dictionary. I doubled the recipe, elimenated the butter, usedhaalf/half that had soured, used an excellent local olive oil freshly pressed with meyer lemon and 1/1/2c spelt flour,1/1/2 rye flour the rest a mix of bread flour, unbleached white and cake flour, and added a little extra yeast. It is presently resting in my refridgerator in a 6 qt. ceramic crock pot till I'm ready to bake several buns for my husband's sanwiches,and freeze the resst. Let you know the rest of the story.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Placerville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
These rolls were great! It's usually hit or miss with me when I make bread so I took a chance on making rolls for Thanksgiving since it was just me and my husband. To my surprise these rolls came out fabulous! I followed the recipe exactly but decided to add about a tbsp of honey to the mix in step 2. We both LOVED these soft, buttery, lightly sweet rolls... thank you, Charlotte!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
If I were to rate on flavor alone, these rolls would easily earn 5 stars. As written, however, the dough doesn't rise as well as it does when the yeast is first proofed. Additionally, if this recipe makes 40 dinner rolls, I'd think they'd have to be the size of golf balls! Neither time, even with proofing the yeast, did I get anywhere near 40. It's definitely a keeper w/ modifications. Thank you sharing for the recipe, and Happy Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Snell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Findley Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Tionesta, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States