Buttery Lemon Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I cooked some mushrooms in olive oil in a frypan then added the spinach, garlic and meyer lemon picked fresh from my garden. Wonderful, will certainly make again. Eileen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I searched for the microwave option of cooking spinach because I had a bag of spinach at work I was going to use for salad, but waited too long. So I thought if I could cook it in the microwave, it wouldn't be wasted. I didn't have lemon. So I put a few dollops of margerine over the top and sprinkled generously with Mrs. Dash Onion & Herb blend, plus a little salt. I microwaved it for 2 minutes and I thought it came out really good. Didn't have plastic wrap, so cut open a Ziploc gallon bag and used that instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I am sorry but although I love spinach this just was not edible at all. I did follow the instruction to the T but my taste buds just were not having it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I didn't care for this way of cooking spinach. I bought a bag of mixed kale, swiss chard, and baby spinach. I realized it was only 5 oz so I cut the recipe in half. I followed the recipe, except I reduced the butter. I figured I could add more later if I needed it. After the 2 minutes, it didn't looked fully cooked and it was tart from the lemon juice. It was also very watery. So, I drained the liquid and spritzed it with olive oil, which I typically cook it in, and added a sprinkle of sea salt. Not sure why the recipe is missing salt unless one uses salted butter. I microwaved it one more minute. It tasted better, and was more cooked, but I guess I just like spinach or greens sauteed and not microwaved. The garlic, butter, or other flavorings just get more caramelized adding to the depth of the overall flavor and texture. Watery tart spinach just didn't work for me. I might be able to salvage it, fortunately, by adding it to another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Made this tonight for the father-in-law. Used 2 bags of fresh spinach, but only 1 1/2 tbsp. butter. Five I believe is way too much. With the added lemon and garlic, you just don't need it... nor all the calories. It was delicious. My father-in-law had double helpings. I would've, but boy does that spinach wilt like crazy. Fresh, delicious, good for you and my husband's heart. Next time, I will try with our Vegan, Earth Balance, Butter substitute. We soooo loved this dish. The lemon was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tennismom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
My family can't get enough of this spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tmkshanghai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Would have been better without the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Perfect lunch. Couldn't have been easier. A nice squeeze of fresh lemon over the top and a sprinkle of salt & pepper... Lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Fantabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheChaoticChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Penfield, New York, USA
Living In: Walworth, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I followed the recipe as written and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Denny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States