Buttery Cupcakes with Coconut Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I just made the cupcakes from this recipe (not the frosting) and they were delicious. Excellent consistency and flavor. I will definitely make this again for any vanilla cupcakes. Easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Very good. I adjusted a bit because I wanted to use more coconut in the cupcakes themselves, and I didn't really have the time to make the frosting--plus, I already had leftover frosting in the fridge. So, I used the cup of coconut in the cupcakes, frosted with whipped cream cheese frosting, and then topped with chocolate sprinkles and some coconut. Husband loved them, as did coworkers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
made these with the cinnamon, and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I must say I was looking for a good buttery cupcake more than a sugary topping. I just made the cake. Maybe with sugary topping, but it does not stand on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Yum! Yum! Yum!! Made these for my best friend's Bridal Shower that I both catered and hosted. She wanted to do cupcake decorating, and her bridal colors are Pink and Black. I tested this recipe the week before the party, and FELL in LOVE with it. Didn't even bother with the coconut topping, just made the cupcakes and they were DELICIOUS! I added red food die to make them pink, and EVERYONE loved them. By far the best vanilla cupcakes I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sydney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
"Your best cupcakes ever!" exclaimed the roommate. "I love you even more" said the boyfriend! And all because of these cupcakes! Hints: Use the cinnamon in the cupcake bottom, otherwise they're boring. Make sure you butter is warm enough to cream with the sugar. Lumpy cake batter is going to make your cupcakes a crappy texture. For the topping, you can spread it to the edge if you want the topping to melt into the paper and then catch on fire (extra hint: you don't). If you grease the cupcake pans you can spread the stuff closer to the edges. If you don't use walnuts (which you should, they were super-yummy) add more coconut, otherwise your topping will be a little too... buttery. YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesse Camilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
My 14-year-old daughter, who LOVES to bake, found this recipe (she was looking for a recipe with coconut, because we had so much left over from the holidays), and it was a HIT! I am not really a fan of sweets, but I always "taste" what she makes, because she really is a great baker ... and I am telling you that these cupcakes are my favorite ... they are DELICIOUS! She followed the recipe to the "T" (she generally does), except she omitted the walnuts, because she has a nut allergy. She has made them twice, and they came out PERFECT both times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Living In: North Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
These came out way to heavy and not very tasty either. The topping was good but the cupcake itself was not. I was very dissapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bad bad kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
These were only ok for me. I did halve the recipe as it was just for my husband & I and we don't need to have 12 cupcakes around :) but I did it exactly in half (the site calculates it for you) and they turned out rather dry. I felt more like I was eating a muffin than a cupcake. The topping was interesting but again seemed like a muffin topping instead of a frosting. You do have to be careful with the broiling- I did not spread to the edges as directed, thinking it would spread itself under the heat, but it did not, and a few did turn dark in that area, so I would advice spreading it out to cover the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I made these today and I am not sure about the broiler part - I didn't "spread" the coconut topping part to the edges, like the recipe said, and the broiler burned the outer edges (where the coconut wasn't covering the cupcake part) after 1 minute. We were able to salvage them, but they weren't pretty. STILL A GREAT TASTE THOUGH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Tagle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States