Buttery Crunch Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
did not love this crust. enjoyed the idea of not having to roll out the dough, but in practice it was a pain in its own way. the dough was very dry and crumbly. I added another 2 tsp. of butter and that barely helped. then I prebaked it for about 8 min. Used it with the cinnamon pie recipe from this site, but that pie cooks for like and hour and the crust was seriously over done by that point. I guess the flavor was good, on the parts at the bottom that didn't burn, but overall, not loving this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Awesome, fast and easy. I made one crust as stated for a coconut custard pie, then one with roasted peanuts for a peanut butter pie. Awesome! Loved the crust as much as the pie. Do not however pre-bake if you are going to bake the filling. Leave it uncooked, fill then bake. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I loved this recipe. This was my first time ever making a pie crust, and it was quick, easy and the best crust I have ever eaten. The first one I made with the pecans was a little difficult to press into the pan but was good, the second without the pecans was easy to press and tasted heavenly. I made this with the cinnamon pie recipe on this site and with the first one sort of overpowered the taste of the filling, but the second one complimented it perfectly because I added a little cinnamon. If you are not so big on pecans like me, I would recomend making this without them and adding a tbls of cinnamon and/or nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Perfection! Toasted the pecans, used crust with Sweet Potato Pie. This amount made one pie crust; don't pre-bake crust, gets pretty dark with baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
best buttery crunch crust with cinnamon pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This crust just makes the pie filling seem like something you add to have the excuse to eat the crust. YUMMY! and easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Absolutely fantastic recipe! I made it exactly like the recipe but used a lightly greased 10 inch glass pie pan instead of the 9 inch. I used the whole recipe for the crust instead of saving half of it for the topping and it covered the pan nicely. I did not bake it before putting the filling in. I made the Cinnamon Pie from this site that was submitted by Sharon Miller and the crust complimented the pie superbly! This is a real keeper. Would have given it 10 stars if I could. Will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I loved this have made it more than a few times - always sooo tasty, I did change one thing and I have continued to do so - I use 1/2 cup of flour and 1/2 cup of rolled quick cooking oats instead of 1 whole cup of flour. thanks for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Super Easy & great for many differnt types of pies. Used this with the Cinnamon Pie from this site and it was really good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I have been baking and cooking since I was 10 years old. I have never gotten the knack for anything that has to be rolled out. This is a great recipe for those of us that are challenged in this way. Everything about this recipe was 5 star. Easy, quick and delicious! I made it for dessert for Easter Sunday. I made the Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie from this site. Everyone raved about the pie. My family considers me a good cook, but even I have to admit this pie was exceptional. It will be on the most requested list for our family holidays from now on. I wouldn't even think of any other pie crust for any cream pie from now on. The only thing I did differently from the recipe was to use it all for the crust on a 9" pie. I did not save any for the top as I had home made whipped cream with toasted coconut for the top of my pie. Please, please, please try this, you will not be disappointed! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States