Buttery Cranberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This is a great recipe. A friend of mine wanted a strawberry rhubarb pie, but rhubarb is out of season so I decided to try this as a sour substitution. I doubled the recipe, but kept the cranberries the same and added a pound of halved strawberries. So good! My berries did need a little more sugar to be edible though. Can't wait to make this for Thanksgiving and I am NOT a pie fan. Everyone loved it and the birthday boy was excited to take home the leftovers. Thanks for such yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Was very easy and great with vanilla ice cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Valdovinos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poca, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This is an excellent pie for those who like cranberries! I suggest half the amount of lemon juice (1/8 of a cup) and double the amount of cranberries (2 (12 oz each) fresh cranberries. The reason for it is the size of the pie. 1 bag of cranberries is nearly not enough for a 9 inch pie. I used 2 bags and half the amount of lemon because I saw that 1 bag is too little and too much lemon juice would make the pie too tart. Good luck!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This was a very good pie and a great use of the extra cranberries I had left over from Thanksgiving. I was a little nervous after reading the reviews that it might be to tart and so I did do a couple of things. I used a little less cranberries (about half of what it called for) and then replaced the remainder with Raspberries. I also left out the lemon juice but would leave it in next time. The pie turned out good. I would make it again. The only other thing I would change is I would add some instant tapioca to the filling. It was a bit runny, even though it was tasty. One other detail... I used a deep dish pie crust. Wanted to be safe. Glad I did because it needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WestCoastJana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Not only was this super easy, it tasted DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Absolutely delicious! Very tangy and tart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Excellent! I hadn't used fresh cranberries before but now that I know how easy it is (and delicious!) I will use them whenever available. Thank you for such a good recipe- highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REKBA99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middleburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
My family loved it. Very easy to make and it wasn't too tart for us as others have expressed. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I didn't try any of this since I made it for a pie tasting function; however, my neighbor tried it and said it was really good. I used 2 tblspoons of butter and 2 cups of sugar. I also used frozen cranberries and I'm not sure if that's why they stuck together immediately after I put them in the sugar mixture or if I just over cooked the mixture and that was the problem. Either way, although it took me a few minutes to break them up, eventually the cranberries popped and broke apart. My neighbor told me it wasn't too sour and she said the pie was great. Thanks for the recipe--I'll make it again for just us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was wayy too tart and I love tart and sour desserts. The lemon juice was too much, I felt like that was all I could taste. I think using orange juice would be much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States