Buttery Cranberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I have been making this pie for a VERY long time. You can use 1/2 the sugar by doing 1/2 splenda if it makes you feel better!?!?! My guys LOVE this pie with a dollop of Edy's Swiss Orange ice cream-sherbet with flecks of dark chocolate!! It is so popular with my friends and family that I am only invited anywhere between Nov-Jan if I bring at least one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This recipe was great. everybody loved it. the only differences that i had when i made it was that i used orange juice instead of lemon juice, and i added extra sugar instead of salt. i think that this recipe was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Super yummy! Tasted like cherry pie! Made it for Thanksgiving, and my husband said "Oh no you didn't! CRANBERRY pie?!!?!?" Turned out he LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyfuljoyous
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
definately a cranberry lovers pie! topped with vanilla ice cream is perfect! I even had a glass of warm milk w- honey-loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
This was an absolute hit on Thanksgiving. My family was a bit hesitant to try it but RAVED after one bite. This will defentily be a holiday tradition. I cut down some time on this recipe by using a Pillsbury crust and making a crumb topping. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I didn't have any lemon juice, but I did have a box of orange jello. I mixed this in, and what a wonderful flavor. Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AOSWALT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Craig, Missouri, USA
Living In: Burr, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Wow!! This is so very good. I did modify it slightly per other reviewers suggestions. I like tart foods, like Rhubarb, Cranberry, and lemon. But, I did agree with the reviewer that felt that the lemon juice in a Cranberry Pie might be to much. Did not use it at all. Also, did not add any salt, I couldn't see why I should add it. It didn't seem necessary. I subbed additional water in place of the lemon juice and I subbed some extra sugar for the salt. I also added some Fuji apples. That also helps to cut down on the tartness of the berries. My topping was a crumb one was from this site. It was wonderful. My husband is the opposite of me, where I love tart foods, he doesn't. He likes this pie. I also added a pinch of orange zest, but didn't have any mace(will next time). For the crumb topping, you might want to check it at 30 min., mine went the full 40 and came out almost burnt. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Very good. I used filling as a cobbler instead of a pie. I made 2 cobblers (doubled the filling recipe). One was as recipe indicates and other I added sliced apples (2 apples). Family and friends enjoyed both. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I was looking for a cranberry pie recipe that was not too sweet and this one fit hte bill. I did not have lemon juice so I did orange juice mixed with some lime juice. I cut the sugar down to 1 cup and it was perfect! A bit tart but great. I also omited the salt. It did bubble over like crazy so next time I will put it in a deep dish pie pan. You have got to try this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I made this pie for Thanksgiving. It was a total hit. Everyone absolutely loved it. The only thing I did different was add a few drops of red food coloring. It brightened up the color. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It will become a favorite in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BICKIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States