Buttery Cranberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
delicious and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I made this pie for Thanksgiving. It was a total hit. Everyone absolutely loved it. The only thing I did different was add a few drops of red food coloring. It brightened up the color. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It will become a favorite in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BICKIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I was looking for a cranberry pie recipe that was not too sweet and this one fit hte bill. I did not have lemon juice so I did orange juice mixed with some lime juice. I cut the sugar down to 1 cup and it was perfect! A bit tart but great. I also omited the salt. It did bubble over like crazy so next time I will put it in a deep dish pie pan. You have got to try this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
It was good however, every subsequent bite I felt as if I was tasting more and more lemon juice. I think I'll cut the juice down and try it that way. Everyone gobbled it up however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
We liked it, but it was tart. Tart tart tart. I can eat an whole lemon, but this pie was a bit of a challenge. Still tasty, though, especially with vanilla ice cream on top! When I make it again it will be without the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Very good but don't make the mistake I made. Usually I will cut the sugar in any pie recipe because I like my pies tart, so I cut from 1 1/2 cups (seemed like a lot to me) to 1 cup of sugar. It was almost too tart for me! Next time I will use the recommended amount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillaurabean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winlock, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Too soupy. Nice flavor contrast though. I added more cornstarch and try as I might it just didn't work out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xiaocupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Very good. I used filling as a cobbler instead of a pie. I made 2 cobblers (doubled the filling recipe). One was as recipe indicates and other I added sliced apples (2 apples). Family and friends enjoyed both. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Wow!! This is so very good. I did modify it slightly per other reviewers suggestions. I like tart foods, like Rhubarb, Cranberry, and lemon. But, I did agree with the reviewer that felt that the lemon juice in a Cranberry Pie might be to much. Did not use it at all. Also, did not add any salt, I couldn't see why I should add it. It didn't seem necessary. I subbed additional water in place of the lemon juice and I subbed some extra sugar for the salt. I also added some Fuji apples. That also helps to cut down on the tartness of the berries. My topping was a crumb one was from this site. It was wonderful. My husband is the opposite of me, where I love tart foods, he doesn't. He likes this pie. I also added a pinch of orange zest, but didn't have any mace(will next time). For the crumb topping, you might want to check it at 30 min., mine went the full 40 and came out almost burnt. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This will only be appreciated by fans of a very tart fruit pie. Spectacular cranberry flavor, and sour enough to make you squeal, even with the large amount of sugar. It could have used even more. Even my husband, who adores rhubarb pies and cherry pies because of their tartness had a tough time eating this one. I used orange juice in place of water, and in retrospect, probably should have used it in place of the lemon juice as well. This pie needs no further acid beyond what the cranberries already bring to the table. I increased the butter to 2 tablespoons, as I fail to see how a mere 2 teaspoons could live up to the title of a "buttery" pie (and 2 Tb is not a lot for a 9" pie.) Added 1 tsp grated orange peel and 1/4 tsp mace, which goes perfectly with the flavor of cranberries. The color is a deep crimson, a perfect centerpiece for your holiday table. Just know that the sourness of this pie is so intense that it might not appeal to all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States