Buttery Cranberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
My family loved it. Very easy to make and it wasn't too tart for us as others have expressed. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I didn't try any of this since I made it for a pie tasting function; however, my neighbor tried it and said it was really good. I used 2 tblspoons of butter and 2 cups of sugar. I also used frozen cranberries and I'm not sure if that's why they stuck together immediately after I put them in the sugar mixture or if I just over cooked the mixture and that was the problem. Either way, although it took me a few minutes to break them up, eventually the cranberries popped and broke apart. My neighbor told me it wasn't too sour and she said the pie was great. Thanks for the recipe--I'll make it again for just us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was wayy too tart and I love tart and sour desserts. The lemon juice was too much, I felt like that was all I could taste. I think using orange juice would be much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
delicious and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I made this pie for Thanksgiving. It was a total hit. Everyone absolutely loved it. The only thing I did different was add a few drops of red food coloring. It brightened up the color. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It will become a favorite in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Bickis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I was looking for a cranberry pie recipe that was not too sweet and this one fit hte bill. I did not have lemon juice so I did orange juice mixed with some lime juice. I cut the sugar down to 1 cup and it was perfect! A bit tart but great. I also omited the salt. It did bubble over like crazy so next time I will put it in a deep dish pie pan. You have got to try this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
It was good however, every subsequent bite I felt as if I was tasting more and more lemon juice. I think I'll cut the juice down and try it that way. Everyone gobbled it up however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
We liked it, but it was tart. Tart tart tart. I can eat an whole lemon, but this pie was a bit of a challenge. Still tasty, though, especially with vanilla ice cream on top! When I make it again it will be without the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Very good but don't make the mistake I made. Usually I will cut the sugar in any pie recipe because I like my pies tart, so I cut from 1 1/2 cups (seemed like a lot to me) to 1 cup of sugar. It was almost too tart for me! Next time I will use the recommended amount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillaurabean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winlock, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Too soupy. Nice flavor contrast though. I added more cornstarch and try as I might it just didn't work out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xiaocupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States