Buttery Cooked Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Very good, quick & easy. I think I left too much water in pan, instead of a syrup it was a little runny. I added a little salt for taste to. I like that salty sweet combo. I will definitley make this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
These are good, but were a little watery. That could have been my fault. I used Splenda brown sugar for my diabetic son-in-law. You can hardly tell the difference, so it's a great alternative to my usual butter and maple syrup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
very tasty way to dress up carrots. I used locally grown carrots ( red, yellow and orange), cut into 2 inch sticks. I cooked the carrots in a pot of water and once the carrots were fork tender, I drained the water and set it aside. To the same pot, I used butter instead of margarine and only 2 T. I added about a 1/4 cup of brown sugar and let both the butter and sugar come to a boil before adding the carrots back. I tossed the carrots around to evenly coat them with the sauce. I let them sit for 5 minutes to allow for the flavors to come together before serving. I did not want the carrots to drown in the sugar sauce just enough to taste. The sauce was very tasty, not overpowering. I enjoyed the carrots which still had a nice tender yet slight firm bite to it. Overall, I am glad I did not use the full 1/4 cup of butter and cut back a little on the brown sugar (might have been too sweet for me). There were no leftovers , my family ate them all up. I served these with grilled rib eye steaks and creamy sweet corn, from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
These were really good. Made exactly as written using leftover carrots from a veggie tray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Delicious!! I cooked the carrots until they were slightly undercooked and then added the butter and brown sugar. I then cooked them until they were tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charmaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
i just eyeballed some butter and some brown sugar. mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
We thought these were pretty good. I used white sugar instead of brown because my stepmother made fabulous carrots with white sugar, and butter instead of margarine. Next time, I will omit the extra water, as others have, because I found the sauce a little too watery; not enough cling to the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Sauce a little watery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Only one word can describe these = AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I hate carrots but I have to start eating them because I have to show a good example to my child so I tried this recipe. It is so good! Next time I will make more carrots as I wanted more. That's how good it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 647) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States