Buttery Cooked Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I have tried this recipe, but prefer my own in leaving out the sugar and using approx. the same amount of marsala. Even though this is alcohol when I'm a tea-totaller it does give it a lovely smooth flavour similar to the brown sugar, but the marsala is better in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephinebat10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I found it a little too sweet so I added a little lemon juice and some parsley - about a teaspoon each, and wow, the taste went to a whole new level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I cook mine in a covered casserole in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Lawrence
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I'm going to give this a try but it sounds so good I'll give it 5 stars. I usually cook the carrots with some sugar and when tender, drain and either add Orange Marmalade/Preserves or Apricot Marmalade/Preserves or some of the new product seen on Shark Tank, Mango Mango Preserves with some butter. Have had many compliments on this. Anxious to try your version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I too thought it a little watery and now prefer the carrots steamed and used real butter instead of margarine. I also thought they needed a touch of something more and added just a pinch of cinnamon, very good that way. Made them again and used some real maple syrup instead of brown sugar. Delicious, but too expensive to do on a regular basis. May try the regular recipe again sometime and add some maple flavoring at the end to see if I can replicate that taste on a more affordable level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Cannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garrett, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saint Joe, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Very good traditional carrot recipe. Anyone that does not like this has problems with their taste buds! I have never heard of messing up sweet carrots like Rebslo's review said here by adding garlic, rosemary and lemon juice. Why on earth would you do that??? I am stumped. Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri's Best Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philadelphia, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Spring Hope, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
My husband and I really liked these. I used butter instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by samantha jack
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Loved it, my family loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I love these carrots I've made them with piloncio a pure sugar cane to substitute the brown sugar didn't have it at the time but still came out delicious ????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Such a great carrot recipe that my picky husband loves! I didn't keep water in but instead just mixed butter and brown sugar together. Just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristy Moening

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 642) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States