Buttertart Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Easy to make and turned out exactly as described. I made it using the optional ingredients. Let the finished product cool completely before cutting/serving and you will have a firmer more stable square.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Daye

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Oh my these are so so good. Just lifted them out of the oven and had to eat the first piece with a fork as I couldn't wait to let it set and cool. The texture is perfect, a little bit gooey and slightly chewy around the edges. I 1.5 it and used a 9x13. I think I actually ended up doubling a few ingredients. I hope I can replicate because I will make this again. I used coconut, and pecans and next time will try with currants only and see if they turn out like my Mum's butter tarts. You can use less sugar in the topping and it's still plenty sweet. Thanks for this fantastic recipe! Oh, and you're kidding about the 24 servings, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Yum Yum Yum. Absolutely delicious and addicting. I never remembered oats being used in traditional buttertarts so to see it included here was interesting. It was not noticable in the eating of it, except the fact I saw an oat here and there, but hey; a little fiber never hurts. The crust was yummy - buttery and soft like a yummy butter cookie. I would even use this crust recipe on other squares. I used the raisins and coconut and I did cut the brown sugar to 1 cup, and they tasted wonderful and sweet but I am sure even going to 3/4 cup of brown sugar would still be adequate (especially since raisins are in the recipe) I will try cutting it further next time (likely this weekend). I drizzled the top with dark chocolate (only because the boyfriend loves chocolate), otherwise they would have been wonderful as is. I didn't even notice the chocolate because the flavour of the squares had it all. Thanks for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle_dimsum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
These are sooooo good!!!! I followed the recipe as written but did not use the coconut...Will absolutely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I've made these squares several times now, and have often taken them to gatherings. They are so quick and easy to make - truly a fool proof recipe. Every time I've taken them to a function I've had people ask for the recipe. This is a real favourite around here. The only thing I do is multiple the recipe by 1.5 to make a 9"X13" pan at a time. I also line the pan with parchment paper so when cooled they just lift out for cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy at Home

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
First made exactly as specified omitting only the raisins as my family doesnt like them. Amazing :) ... then made them again and substituted chopped walnuts for the raisins.. Excellent!! Now third time I have coconut, walnuts and 1/2 cup of choc chips!! This is a fantastic recipe that everyone loves no matter what I add to it :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oromocto, New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Wow! These were soo easy and soo good! My four year old daughter and I made them up in about 5 minutes. Definitely will be making them again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Very good! I used craisins and cashews instead of raisins and coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Perfectly delicious! I would change nothing. Love the oats and coconut, they really bring this square together. The shortbread is soft and crumbly but needs to be handled gently in order to avoid breakage. Do grease the pan evenly. This recipe has become a family favourite and I make it for every holiday and family gathering (and sometimes in between). With a few copyright protected tweaks (*wink*) this recipe won first prize at my local fall fair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
WOW! These are sooo YUMMY! I have never even heard of them until I saw this recipe. Very easy and so yum! Added 1/4 C extra of oats - no coconut -- made in 7X11 w/ no changes to the cook time. OUTSTANDING recipe!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRELLA72

Displaying results 21-30 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States