Butterscotch Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
I added caramel frosting and a few chopped pecans to decorate the top. It looked nice and my youngest daughter loved it. I was a little disappointed, as the cake itself mostly tasted like the spice cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Great recipe for the whole family to enjoy! Used a yellow cake mix instead of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I made two of these with vanilla cake mix and didn't really notice any "butterscotch" overwhelming flavor. The butterscotch pudding added a hint of flavor. I'll have to try with spice cake, but reading through the other comments, I see that there's not much difference there with flavor, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Spirit River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This is the BEST cake!!!!! Okay....I didnt use butterscotch. I used pumpkin instant pudding. It was incredible! It was spicy with the cinnamon and you could really taste the pumpkin. The cake was moist and so soft. This would be great with a cream cheese frosting or glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Very easy recipe. Didn't have butterscotch so I used Banana Creme...delicious and moist. Baked in a 9 x 13 for around 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This cake is very good! I made it exactly as written and topped it (once cooled) with a quick vanilla glaze and red and green cherries. It smelled great while baking and my mother-in-law really enjoyed it. This cake is super simple to make and with the addition of the glaze and cherries it was very festive. Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
The butterscotch flavor was a little weak so I crushed up some hard butterscotch candies and sprinkled them on top. Family raved about it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dickinson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This cake is delicious made with both spice cake mix or yellow cake mix. It is incredibly moist and turns out great every time. I reduce the oven temp to 325 because I use a nonstick bundt pan. I am looking forward to trying this recipe with other flavors of cake and pudding mixes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I had to make changes only because I didn't have any butterscotch pudding on hand so I used vanilla. I did have butterscotch chips though. First I mixed the pudding mix and cake mix together with a whisk. Then I took out about 2 heaping tablespoons of the mix and tossed a 12 ounce package of butterscotch chips to keep them from sinking in the cake and folded in after I was done mixing all the other ingredients. So we shall see and I will edit when done. Also, subbed half of the water with vanilla nut creamer and added extra spice (cinnamon, nutmeg, ground clove). The batter tasted bomb and I am hoping that transfers to the finished product. I do plan on doing a cream cheese frosting with this cake and I will let you girls know.***on edit***The cake is delicious, I had to fight my hubby for a bite of his piece so I could finish my review ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlingDash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
We really loved this cake once I tweaked it. It's a basic recipe really. I poured in half the batter and added 2/3 cup butterscotch chips to it (so they wouldn't all end up on the bottom if I mixed them in before) then topped with the rest of the batter. You may have good results mixing them throughout; my batter seemed a little thin. I also made a butterscotch glaze for the top. I would also recommend trying a caramel or maple icing with this. It's great with the addition of chips and icing and goes well with coffee. The boyfriend liked it with the blend of spice and butterscotch. I could see that walnuts or pecans might be a nice addition. This cake also freezes well (well-wrapped) glaze and all. If I frosted it, I may wait to frost it after it had dethawed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carterville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States