Butterscotch Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Not bad for a "cheater cake!" I was too busy to make it from scratch and threw this together. The family loved it. I used Chef John's Salted Caramel on the top while it was still warm. Primo! Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
These cupcakes were really easy to get together and were so light and tender. After reading the reviews from others I added 3/4 of a bag of butterscotch chips. With this addition, you really did taste the butterscotch and toned down the spice cake flavor. I made into cupcakes and baked for 16 minutes. I thought they had really good flavor, but, my husband didn't like the taste of the butterscotch and spice flavor at all. I compromised on a 3 star rating. Based on the review of MrsFisher0729 I topped with marshmallow buttercream frosting from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Everyone loved this cake! I added a whole bag of butterscotch chips/morsels. Frosted with marshmallow cream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I did make a few changes to this recipe as I was concerned that lots of the other reviews said it tastes mostly like spice cake and not enough butterscotch. I followed the recipe and ingredients as listed although I used homemade applesauce in place of the oil. Also added a few drops of Butter Vanilla Baking Emulsion (this is a Natural flavoring from Lorann Professional Kitchen) as well as 1 cup of butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by smitty
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
these kinds of cakes are handy dandy for those who are not cake/pastry bakers (;0)...i realized tho i didn't have butterscotch pudding so i used vanilla and a tsp of almond flavouring...yup good cake...;0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I needed a quick, easy recipe for a potluck at school and this one caught my eye, mainly because I had all of the ingredients in my pantry. I have really been trying to make all of my cakes from scratch, but happened to have a spice mix and a package of butterscotch pudding. This blended together in a few minutes and smelled so good while baking. It came out very moist, but the butterscotch flavor did not come through as much as I had hoped that it would. It just tasted like a spice cake to me. I drizzled a powdered sugar icing over it, which did make for a pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
We really loved this cake once I tweaked it. It's a basic recipe really. I poured in half the batter and added 2/3 cup butterscotch chips to it (so they wouldn't all end up on the bottom if I mixed them in before) then topped with the rest of the batter. You may have good results mixing them throughout; my batter seemed a little thin. I also made a butterscotch glaze for the top. I would also recommend trying a caramel or maple icing with this. It's great with the addition of chips and icing and goes well with coffee. The boyfriend liked it with the blend of spice and butterscotch. I could see that walnuts or pecans might be a nice addition. This cake also freezes well (well-wrapped) glaze and all. If I frosted it, I may wait to frost it after it had dethawed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carterville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I had to make changes only because I didn't have any butterscotch pudding on hand so I used vanilla. I did have butterscotch chips though. First I mixed the pudding mix and cake mix together with a whisk. Then I took out about 2 heaping tablespoons of the mix and tossed a 12 ounce package of butterscotch chips to keep them from sinking in the cake and folded in after I was done mixing all the other ingredients. So we shall see and I will edit when done. Also, subbed half of the water with vanilla nut creamer and added extra spice (cinnamon, nutmeg, ground clove). The batter tasted bomb and I am hoping that transfers to the finished product. I do plan on doing a cream cheese frosting with this cake and I will let you girls know.***on edit***The cake is delicious, I had to fight my hubby for a bite of his piece so I could finish my review ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlingDash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This cake is delicious made with both spice cake mix or yellow cake mix. It is incredibly moist and turns out great every time. I reduce the oven temp to 325 because I use a nonstick bundt pan. I am looking forward to trying this recipe with other flavors of cake and pudding mixes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
The butterscotch flavor was a little weak so I crushed up some hard butterscotch candies and sprinkled them on top. Family raved about it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dickinson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States