Butterscotch Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2001
i think this recipe is great! It is very delicous! What tastes grest is covering apples with the butterscoth sauce(like instead of carmel apples!) Youll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
This is an excellent butterscotch sauce! Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
This sauce is wonderful if you TEMPER the egg. Heat all of the ingredients (minus the egg) until the sugar dissolves, beat the egg in another bowl, add the hot sugar mixture while whisking. Add egg and sugar mixture back into the pan and cook just until it thickens, whisking constantly. You'll have a great, SMOOTH sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
I tried this and it is excellent. I had no trouble with the egg as I cooked the sauce in a double boiler and used a whisk to stir it while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This turned out great, I tempured the egg and it was perfect. Great recipe will definatley make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This is SO good, I love it. I let the egg sit at room temp for about 20 minutes, and used a wire whisk to blend it all together over the stove. Was very quick & easy. Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I heated/melted all ingredients except for the egg. I did temper the egg before adding and cooking as suggested by others. The sauce turned out sweet and smooth and delicious over bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Delicious! I was looking for something to put over bread pudding, and this was excellent! I had no trouble getting it to mix and get smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
This recipe was very good. My Kids loved it on Ice Cream. The left overs keep well in the frig. No lumps or egg chunks for me, I cooked it on low and took my time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
For those people with egg floating & cooking, etc., you need to find out how to "temper" the egg. This is a process that must be done, when making certain sauces, custards, cream pies or pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Hollandaise Sauce

Learn the simple tricks to perfect hollandaise sauce.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States