Butterscotch Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
not nice pudding texture even using cornstarch instead of flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I am really happy with this recipe. I did cut the sugar down by half and it was perfect. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponoka, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Tastes okay but I'd make it with corn starch rather than flour. The texture of the flour is just too distinct in this recipe that it's all I notice. Other than that, it's super easy to make & has a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This is sweet and rich, just like butterscotch pudding should be! Even better with 2 or 3 tablespoons of butter added after cooking. I made it in the microwave, first heating the milk and adding to eggs/milk/salt that had been wisked together. Vanilla and butter went in after cooking. EDIT: It also makes a great cream pie! I put the filling into a baked "Butter Flaky Pie Crust" from this site. Fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I've never made pudding before and I had no problem with this recipe. I found the recipe to be similar to a hot fudge sauce recipe that I have which is also made with flour. The texture was creamy and smooth - followed others suggestions to put all the dry ingredients in first, beat the eggs in a bowl, then added while stirring, then slowly added milk. Stir,stir. Also put in two tablespoons of butter when the vanilla was added, seems yummy. Will try again and compare with the use of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Braman-Duarte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumford, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
My daughter requested home made butterscotch pudding so I was happy to find this one, but unfortunately it did not work out for us. The taste of the flour in this recipe and the texture it imparted is unpleasant. It was not creamy- smooth but rather grainy, nor tasting much like butterscotch. It simply tasted of brown sugar and flour. It is indeed extremely sweet as others mentioned and I think the lack of flavor heightens the sweetness. After tasting it, I added 1/3 cup butterscotch chips while it was still warm, which added flavor and color, but the mouth feel was still off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I added 1/2 stick of margarine, butter would be even better! And used 1/4 c cornstarch in place of the flour. It turned out really good! I also melted the magarine and mixed in the brown sugar and cornstarch and let it cook a little before adding the milk and egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Root

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nappanee, Indiana, USA
Living In: Soulsbyville, California, USA
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I made 1/2 recipe of this to try it out today. I actually thought it was pretty good. Some people commented they thought it was too sweet. I actually thought it was more floury than anything. It does not taste like artificial butterscotch, but like how homemade butterscotch should taste. I also like that this was quite thick without having to be refridgerated like cornstarch thickened pudding. The only downside is it is more sugar than I like to use in a quick week night type dessert, for one or two people, but it was fine for tonight. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Not sure what Idid wrong with so many rave reviews for this pudding but I didnt think it was as good as a packet mix. Maybe I added too much flour or something but I was disapointed and my partner really struggled to finish it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Healthy Witness
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was good to take away a sweet tooth craving. I would suggest not using more vanilla than it calls for or using less. I'm used to using extra in other recipes, but in this one, it was overpowering. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Healthy Witness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States