Butterscotch Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
this is delicious. i cut the cornstarch down to 1/4 a cup, and used a bit less sugar. i also used soymilk because i'm lactose intolerant- worked fine. i would recommend keeping a whisk handy. if it tries to lump, that'll take care of it nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavymetalchef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
good recipe. use more milk,a little less sugar and a little less cornstarch to improve this pudding. here's a helpful hint. I had my mixer handy and right after it thickened I beat it for about a minute with the mixer on medium speed. all the lumps disappeared and the consistency was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Easy trick to keep your cornstarch from lumping in any recipe, not just this one. Mix cornstarch thoroughly with COLD liquid (water, milk, etc.) to dissolve, THEN place on stove & heat, stirring constantly. You will end up with completely lump-free sauce (pudding, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I've used this recipe numerous times and it has always turned out wonderfully. I went with other reviewers using only 2 tblsp cornstarch, and dark brown sugar has too much molasses for my taste so I always use light brown instead. Don't stint on the amounts of sugar and butter too much - they're the ingredients that make it "butterscotch." Also, many cooks seem to be having a problem with lumps. Cornstarch has a nasty habit of lumping when mixed with sugar. You can eliminate them almost entirely by mixing the starch in well with the sugar and salt before adding the other ingredients. Lastly, instead of tempering the eggs, mix them well and add them, along with the milk, to the entire recipe before you even turn on the burner. Some recipes are fussy about when certain ingredients are added. This isn't one of them. Remember to stir *constantly* once it's on the burner or else the lumps you got rid of from the above step will come back to haunt you! -grin- Once again, this recipe makes a delicious pudding and Maryann, I thank you so much for submitting it. It's truly a favorite here at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nichols, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Good pudding- easy to make and tasty. It is very sweet, and I cut the brown sugar down to 2/3 cup! I can't imagine what it would have been like with the full cup...wow. I used 1% milk and only used 1 tablespoon of butter- I think that is all it really needs. I made this with my little girl tonight, who wanted "hop-scotch" pudding for dessert. :) It is really good with a handful of real white chocolate chips sprinkled on top while still warm, so they melt into the pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
I found this OMG good. Granted, I made in in an attempt to sate a generalized "pudding" pregnancy craving, but I think it is wonderful. I went with 2 T cornstarch, I whisked everything well before putting it on the heat, and had no lumps to speak of. Yum. I did portion it into 6 ramekins instead of just 4...it's good, but rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
This was my first time making this kind of pudding and it did not turn out very well(extremely lumpy). It might have just been me and I think I will try it again to see if I can get better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Almost inedible. Too much cornstarch by about a mile, so it had a weird, grainy/powdery texture. The flavour wasn't the best, either, with the butter really overwhelming things, and it was far too sweet! I wouldn't even attempt to make this again with changes - there are better recipes out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
After a few adjustments, this recipe was perfectly good. 2 tablespoons cornstarch was more than enough. I mixed the brown sugar, 2 tablespoons cornstarch, and salt in a 1 quart saucepan, then slowly stirred in milk. I brought this to a boil over medium heat while I beat eggs in a smal bowl. When the sugar mixture came to a boil, I removed it from the heat and added about 1/2 to 3/4 cup of it into the eggs, beating constantly, and poured everything back to the saucepan. Keeping on stirring, I brought this back to a boil, removed from heat, and stirred in butter and vanilla. It came perfect for me after cooking it this way. I hope it can help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
My effort didn't turn out. This was my first try at making a pudding with eggs in it and I wish I had chosen a different recipe with better directions. The recipe here indicates you should cook the eggs in with the milk, however if you look at any other recipe's directions, then you will see that the eggs should be added after the milk mix is off the burner. The hot mix should be added to the eggs slowly so that the eggs don't cook. Unfortunately, I didn't know this as, this recipe fails to have complete instructions. I had little lumps all over in my pudding of cookd egg and it tasted off, like sugar eggs. I will try again with a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States